Maharashtra civic polls: BJP beats currency crisis in second phase too

Maharashtra civic polls: BJP beats currency crisis in second phase too

In the direct contest for the municipal council presidents, BJP gained the lead in five councils while Congress was ahead in three.

maharashtra civic polls, civic polls, maharashtra, bjp, congress, mns, mumbai, devendra fadnavis
Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavsis

Beating the currency crisis, the ruling BJP took a clear lead in the second phase of 14 municipal council polls in Maharashtra by winning 89 out of 335 seats on Thursday. The Congress won 66 seats while NCP bagged an impressive 94 seats. BJP’s ally Shiv Sena won 25 seats while 55 seats went to others. The BJP bagged five municipal council president seats, pushing behind NCP and Congress who won two seats each, while its alliance partner Shiv Sena could win just one.

The BJP made the breakthrough in difficult turfs like Lonawala, Talegaon and Alandi in Pune distirct. It also steered ahead in Udgir and NIlanga in Latur district in Marathwada region. The Congress suffered setback in Latur district, where as NCP appeared on back-foot in its stronghold in Pune.

Interestingly, the local bodies elections which are underway in four phases saw the top leadership of all maintain stream parties campaigning aggressively. The Congress, NCP and Shiv Sena had kept the campaign focused on prime minister Narendra Modi government’s mindless demonetisation policy.

BJP won municipal council president posts in Lonavala, Talegaon-Dabhade and Alandi (in Pune district) and Udgir and Nilanga (in Latur district), state Election Commission officials said here.


Congress bagged 2 municipal council president seats in Indapur and Jejuri (both in Pune district), NCP won Baramati (Pune district) and Ausa (Latur district). Shiv Sena won Junnar municipal council president seat in Pune district.

While Daund municipal council president seat in Pune district went to an Independent, three seats in Saswad, Shirur (both in Pune district) and Udgir (in Latur district) were won by ‘Janmat Vikas Agadi’, ‘Shahar Vikas Aghadi’, and ‘Bahujan Vikas Aghadi’, respectively.

Hailing the results as the victory of BJP, state unit president Raosaheb Danve said, “Like in the first phase, the results of the second phase of polls showed that people have displayed their faith in PM Narendra Modi’s demonetisation decision.

“People have liked the performance of the Modi and Fadnavis governments,” he said, adding the results show that BJP continues to be the “number one” party in Maharashtra. He said the NCP could win only Baramati civic chief’s post on its own symbol.