Fadnavis appoints Guardian Ministers for all 36 districtshttps://indianexpress.com/article/cities/mumbai/fadnavis-appoints-guardian-ministers-for-all-36-districts/

Fadnavis appoints Guardian Ministers for all 36 districts

Sena’s Subhash Desai will look after Mumbai, BJP’s Vinod Tawde after suburbs

State’s Education Minister Vinod Tawde (BJP) and Industries Minister Subhash Desai (Shiv Sena) were on Friday appointed as Guardian Ministers of Mumbai.

While Desai has been put in charge of the Mumbai city, Tawde will look after the eastern and western suburbs.

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis named Guardian Ministers for all the 36 districts in the state. Some senior BJP and Sena ministers have been made in-charge of two districts. The state Cabinet has  30 ministers at present.

Guardian Ministers are appointed to look after the development plans and related affairs of each district.


Transport Minister Diwakar Raote (Shiv Sena) has been given charge of  Parbhani and Nanded districts while Health Minister Deepak Sawant has been given charge of Osmanabad and Bhandara.

Senior BJP leader Eknath Khadse, who handles Revenue and Agriculture portfolios, will look after Jalgaon and Buldhana while Cooperatives Minister Chandrakant Patil will handle Sangli and Kolhapur. Finance Minister Sudhir Mungantiwar will oversee Wardha and Chandrapur while Rural Development Minister Pankaja Munde will look after Latur and Beed.

Public Undertakings Minister Eknath Shinde (Shiv Sena) will be in charge of Thane and Tribal Welfare Minister Vishnu Sawra (BJP) will look after the newly created Palghar district.

Housing Minister Prakash Mehta (BJP) has been given the charge of Raigad, Minister of State for Housing RavindraWaikar (Sena) Ratnagiri and Minister of State for Finance and Rural Development Deepak Kesarkar (Sena) Sindhudurg district.

The others include Minister of State for Home Ram Shinde (Ahmednagar), Water Resources Minister Girish Mahajan (Nashik and Nandurbar), Parliamentary Affairs Minister Girish Bapat (Pune), MOS for Water Resources  Vijay Shivtare (Satara).

Minister of State for Transport Vijay Deshmukh (Solapur), Minister of State for Industries Pravin Mote (Amravati), Minister of State for Home (urban) Ranjit Patil (Akola), MoS for Revenue Sanjay Rathod (Yavatmal).

Energy Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule (Nagpur), Minister of State for Tribal Welfare Amrish Ataram (Gadchiroli), Social Justice Minister Rajkumar Badole (Gondia), Environment Minister Ramdas Kadam (Aurangabad), Water Supply Minister Babanrao Lonikar (Jalna) and Minister of State for Social Justice Dilip Kamble (Hingoli).

Soon after being appointed Guardian Minister for Mumbai suburbs, Tawde said,  “Suburbs need systematic and planned approach to development. I will see to it that the BMC’s development plan for 2014-34 is effectively implemented, with priority to construction of hospitals and schools in these areas.”