Congress-NCP combine trails in 18 of 20 Assembly seats it won in 2009

There are a total of 36 Assembly constituencies in Mumbai which make up the six Lok Sabha seats from the city.

Written by ZEESHAN SHAIKH | Mumbai | Published: May 19, 2014 2:31:17 am

THE Congress-NCP combine lags behind in 18 of the 20 Assembly constituencies that they won in the 2009 Assembly elections in the state.

The only two Assembly constituencies that the alliance has garnered more votes than its electoral rivals is in the Lok Sabha seat of Mumbai South, that too from the minority dominated constituencies of Byculla and Mumbadevi where it has led by 16,119 votes and 34,743 votes respectively.

It has also managed to gain more votes than the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance in the Assembly constituency of Mankhurd where it has got a lead of 19,303 votes. The constituency is presently represented by the Samajwadi Party.

There are a total of 36 Assembly constituencies in Mumbai which make up the six Lok Sabha seats from the city. The Congress has 17 of these seats while the NCP has three. The Congress has done a little better than its ally in retaining its leads in two assembly seats.

The NCP meanwhile has been completely annihilated in its strongholds, failing to maintain its lead in all three constituencies.

The Shiv Sena, however, seems to be the party which has made the biggest gains in the city. It has not only retained its four Assembly seats it has also managed to make inroads in 13 other constituencies which are being represented by other political parties.

The BJP, too, has retained its lead in five of its Assembly seats and managed to make a further dent in 11 other Assembly segments. The gains comes against the backdrop of the fact that every second voter in Mumbai opted for tBJP-Shiv Sena.

Candidates put up by the saffron combine in the six seats of Mumbai collectively polled over 56.11 per cent of total votes cast (1,399,148 out of 5,108,060), as per Election Commission data. The groundswell of support meant Congress, NCP candidates were trounced. The average winning margin was over 2.33 lakh votes.

For all the latest Mumbai News, download Indian Express App