city round-up: Catholic Gym cruise into playoffs

city round-up: Catholic Gym cruise into playoffs

Catholic Gymkhana romped to a fluent 4-0 win against Purple Haze in a Division III match of the Mumbai District Football Association League at the Castrol-MSSA School Sports Centre Ground on Monday.

Catholic Gymkhana romped to a fluent 4-0 win against Purple Haze in a Division III match of the Mumbai District Football Association (MDFA) League at the Castrol-MSSA School Sports Centre. Ground on Monday. Jude Fernandes,Kennan D’Lima,Trivene D’Silva and Saurabhi Ghaddi scored one goal each. This was the fifth win for Catholic Gymkhana,who have now qualified for the play-offs,with 16 points from eight matches.

Meanwhile,in an evenly contested encounter,played at the St Xavier’s ground,Parel,Chedda Nagar Fanatics and Parsn SC shared the honours in a 1-1 draw. Anurag Shetty was on target for Chedda Nagar,while Parsn scored through Nikesh Pathare.

Clint FC,meanwhile,thumped Pioneer Residency by a 6-0 margin in another game in the same division. Rakesh Antepuda,Sachin Antepuda,Peter Coutinho,Sanford Silveira,Aditya Kurut and Regan Pitambal found the back of the net for the mighty victors.

Results: Div-III: Catholic Gymkhana 4 (Jude Fernandes,Kennan D’Lima,Trivene D’Silva,Saurabhi Gaddi) bt Purple Haze 0; Clint FC 6 (Rakesh Antepuda,Sachin Antepuda,Peter Coutinho,Sanford Silveira,Aditya Kurut,Regan Pitambal) bt Pioneer Residency 0; Chedda Nagar Fanatics 1 (Anurag Shetty) drew with Parsn SC 1 (Nikesh Pathare).

Egyptian Boys triumph


Defending champs Egyptian Boys and qualifiers Indian FC,both won their matches in the men’s league of the 13th Kalina Football League (KFL),organised by the Sports Committee of Our Lady of Egypt Church and played at the church ground.

Results – Men’s league: Egyptian Boys 1 (Bomeet Yakwadia) bt Nester Compound 0; Rovers 1 (Dillon Kinny) bt Oceanics 0; New Air-India Colony 3 (James Swami,Sunder Pujara,Tyson Pereira) bt Air-India Colony 1 (Jay Panarkar); Indian FC 2 (Pawan Rawat,Vignesh H) bt Kalina Village Boys 0; Kalina United 3 (Jasraj Manas,Pravin Gothad,Sai Khambe) bt Kalina Rangers 2 (Stephen Menezes 2); Boys’ under-16 – Pool-A: Mighty Ducks 3 (Griffin Mathias,Zoel Rodrigues,Sachin Rawat) bt Farm House SC 1 (Delwyn Mathews); Air-India Colony 4 (Khemsingh Mishra,Deepak Apte 3) bt Zig Zag Vasco 0.

Rizvi bag team championships

The Bandra outfit wins third consecutive title in a row in the inter-collegiate tournament,organised by University of Mumbai. Rizvi College of Arts Science and Commerce of Bandra emerged title winners in the men’s and women’s category of the Inter-Collegiate Wrestling Tournament,organised by University of Mumbai at JSSP College,Goveli,Murbad,Kalyan on September 15 & 16,2012. In the men’s category,the Bandra college bagged four gold and a silver while the women’s got four yellow metals and one silver. For women,Priyanka Sanas (Below 51kgs),Shobha Bhosale (Below 55kgs),Devki Rajput (Below 59kgs),Mugdha Vesvikar (Below 63kgs),Pooja Phaterpekar (Below 67 kgs) were the gold medal winners while Shaheen Ansari (Below 55kgs) was the sole silver medallist. The men had Nilesh Patil (Below 50kgs),Rakesh Kumar (Below 55kgs),Sunil Yadav (Below 74kgs),Sandeep Singh (Below 84kgs) winning gold while Bhupinder Singh Rajput (Below 55kgs) won silver. It was Rizvi College’s third title-in-a row.

Top players for Matunga Gym TT

All top players both from the city and the suburbs are expected to participate in the prestigious Matunga Gymkhana-All Mumbai 4 Star ranking table tennis tournament to be held from September 30. The last date for submission of entries is September 25. For further information,contact Kamlesh Mehta (9820070244),the organizing secretary.

Dhirubai,Mary Immaculate win

Dhirubhai Ambani sneaked into the final of the Mumbai Schools Sports Association (MSSA) girls’ under-16 league with a 3-2 win over Carmel of St Joseph from Malad at the Castrol-MSSA centre in Azad Maidan on Monday.

Aashi Doshi,Natasha Parekh and Ridhi Kanwal were the goal-scorers for the Ambani outfit while Anushka Fernandes and Svetlana Fernandes found the back of the net for Carmel of St Joseph.

Results: B-14-III-F: The DPYA (Dadar) 4 (Rohan H,Shukla 3 [Hat-trick,Atharya Rane) bt Antonio D’Souza (Byculla) 0; B-14-II-B: Hansraj Morarji Public (Andheri) 0 drew with Swami Vivekanand (Borivali) 0; B-14-II-C: St Xavier’s Goregaon 2 (Ankit Singh,Shubham Pose) bt Infant Jesus (Malad) 0; B-14-II-D: Maneckji Cooper (Juhu) 1 (Anshu) drew with OLPS (Chembur) 1 (Brian D’Souza); B-14-II-D: St Stanislaus (Bandra) 2 (Nigel Monteiro 2) bt AVM (Bandra-W) 0; G-16-SF: Dhirubhai Ambani (BKC) 3 (Aashi Dishi,Natasha Parekh,Ridhi Kanwal) bt Carmel of St Joseph (Malad) 2 (Anushka Fernandes,Svetlana Fernandes); G-16-SF: Mary Immaculate Girls (Borivali) 2 (Jyoti Karkera,Delfiya Pereira) bt The J B Petit (Fort) 0; B-14-II: Cambridge School (Kandivali) 2 (Aditya Surti,Shantanu Singh) bt St Francis D’Asssisi ‘B’ (Bandra) 1 (Meville D’Costa); B-14-III-D: Arya Vidyamandir (Bandra E) 2 (Bhushan Potnis,Gaurav Ochani) bt Anjuman (CST) 0.