City round-up

The MDFA Women’s Football League (WFL) - 2013,will commence at Goan Sports Association ground,Cross Maidan from the second week of May.

Written by Express News Service | Published: April 23, 2013 4:49:56 am

MDFA women’s league

The MDFA Women’s Football League (WFL) – 2013,will commence at Goan Sports Association ground,Cross Maidan from the second week of May. Those clubs keen to participate in the WFL are requested to register their team along with the affiliation (Rs 500) and entry (Rs 5000) fees at the MDFA office at Parel or Cooperage,during normal working hours. The last date for registration is April 30. For more details contact – 2412 4900 or 2204 4892.

Carrom tourney from April 27

The Bengal Club Sports Academy,the Sports Division of Bengal Club,Shivaji Park will be organising the 2nd Swami Vivekananda Memorial Prize Money State Ranking Carrom Tournament at their premises,Veer Savarkar Marg,Shivaji Park,Dadar,from April 27-30. The four-day tournament for men and women’s singles will be conducted under the auspices of the Maharashtra Carrom Association and Mumbai District Carrom Association in commemoration of 150th birth anniversary of Swami Vivekananda.

Entries along with the participation and state players registration fees,will be accepted at the Mumbai District Carrom Association office,Woollen Mills Municipal School,2nd Floor,J.K. Sawant Marg,Matunga,Mumbai – 400 016. For more details please contact the Bengal Club office or visit the website:

Air India U-19 score narrow win

Air India Under-19 staved off a second half fight back from Mumbai Muslims to carve out a hard-fought 2-1 victory from their Super Division encounter of the MDFA (Mumbai District Football Association) League 2012-13,at the St. Xavier’s ground,Parel on Monday.

The young Air India outfit started off on a promising note and scored twice during the opeing period through Harold Fernandes and Vishal Venugopal to take a solid 2-0 half-time lead. But,thereafter they wasted some easy chances to swell the margin of victory and instead conceded a soft goal scored,which was scored by Muslims striker Atul Darade to finishing with a narrow win.

Results: At St. Xavier’s ground,Parel – Super Div: Air India Under-19 2 (Harold Fernandes,Vishal Venugopal) beat Mumbai Muslims 1 (Atul Darade).

KSA Free Futsal this weekend

The Karnatak Sporting Association (KSA) will be holding the KSA Free Futsal Oen Tournament for boys’ under-14,at the KSA ground,Cross Maidan,Churchgate end,from April 27 to 28. The two-day event will be played on a six-a-side format with unique features,including rolling substitutions. Late date for entries is April 25. For details and registration,contact the KSA office on telephone 022 22631664,Deepak (9820877365) or Prakash (7738419931),between 3.00 pm to 7.30 pm.

Khan slams ton

Riding on Shoaib Khan’s century and useful innings from Pushkar Sharma enabled hosts Bombay Gymkhana declared at 259 for nine against P.J.Hindu Gymkhana on the first day of the two day under 14 cricket Tournament on their home ground.

Brief Scores: Bombay Gymkhana 259 for 9 decl. (Shoaib Khan 120,Pushkat Sharma 46,Abhishek Pandey 4-99,Sagar Sawant 2-32,Viraj Jadhav 2-26 ) vs P.J. Hindu Gymkhana 48 for 1; Vengsarkar C.A. 267 for 2 decl. (S. Kadam 78 n.o.,D. Saxena 151) vs Police Gymkhana 12 for 1; New Hind 206 for 5 (V. Narvekar 87,Sahil Mujawar 34,N. Mane 2-43) vs MIG C.C; Shivaji park Gymkhana 93 (S. Phatak 41,S. Jha 3-27) and 8 for no loss vs Payyade 176 for 2 decl. (Vaibhav Kolambkar 105).

CCI lifts T20 title

Sushant Khaire and Shashikant Kadam scored 47 runs in two overs to guide Cricket Club of India clinch Prabodhan Mumbai T-20 Cricket Tournament defeating Mumbai Police Sports Club by five wickets.

BRIEF SCORES : Mumbai Police Sports Club : 156/9 (Shahid Shaikh 35,Sunil Patil 36,Santosh Shinde 60; Anand Singh 3/19 ) lost to CCI: 158/5 in 18.5 overs ( Bhavin Thakkar 36,Shashikant Kadam 46 n.o.,Sushant Khaire 46 n.o.) MOM – Sushant Khaire ,Man of the Series: Santosh Shinde (Mumbai Police).

Ramchandran wins

Arjuna Awardee Mahesh Ramchandran,with seasoned spinnaker trimmer Rajesh Dhullaji,Neeraj Sharma and Asian Games silver medalist Shekhar Yadav ,won his 12 Match Racing National Championship,defeating former teammate Nitin Mongia and his crew of Gaurav Randhawa, Brijraj Verma and Chetan Fernandes at the Naval Sailing Club.

For all the latest Mumbai News, download Indian Express App