Bombay Gym ‘Phantoms’ supreme

Bombay Gym ‘Phantoms’ supreme

Parikh returned to face Daruwalla in the decider and hit significant breaks of 30 and 50 to take the contest away.

Bombay Gymkhana ‘Phantoms’ rallied from 0-2 to upset former champions PJ Hindu Gymkhana ‘Oceans Seven’ in a 3-2 thriller to emerge champions in the BSAM World Zoroastrian Organisation Trust Mumbai Snooker League,at the Dadar Parsee Colony Gymkhana. Winners in 2011,‘Oceans Seven’ looked set to regain the title when Chirag Mehta and Ronnie Daruwalla won the opening doubles and former state junior champion Rovin D’Souza beat current state junior and sub junior champion Ishpreet Singh Chadha in the second singles that included an impressive yellow pot and a fluke brown. Playing the third singles,Siddharth Parikh reduced the margin before Chadha avenged his loss with a comfortable win over D’Souza in the crucial fourth singles to force the decider. Chadha ignored the earlier reverse and was on fire with impressive potting that earned him a break of 31 early in the tie and a 27 that ended prematurely when he missed a fairly simple blue pot in the centre. Parikh returned to face Daruwalla in the decider and hit significant breaks of 30 and 50 to take the contest away.

Salvation extends winning run

Our Lady of Salvation’s teams enjoyed a good outing,as both teams emerged victories in second round matches of the 26th Willingdon Catholic Gymkhana (WCG) annual Inter-Parish Rink Football Tournament,at the WCG tennis courts. Salvation ‘B’ outplayed St Sebastian,Chembur 5-1,while their ‘A’ team scored a

hard-fought 2-1 win against Our Lady of Health ‘A’.

Results: St John Bosco ‘B’,Borivali 1 (Rohit Valooran) bt St Anthony ‘C’,Malwani 0; Our Lady of Salvation ‘B’,Dadar 5 (Linekar Machado 2,Blaise Fernandes,Mario Fernandes,Hycliff D’Abreo ) bt St Sebastian,Chembur 1 ( Mukesh Singh); Our Lady of Salvation ‘A’,Dadar 2 (Henderson Dias 2) bt Our Lady of Health ‘A’,Sahar 1 (Michael D’Souza); Ladies League: Sacred Heart ‘B’,Andheri 1 (Ruth Joseph) bt Sacred Heart,Santacruz 0; Veteran’s League: Maccabi 4 (Hubert Mendes 2,Custodio Fernandes,Camilo Noronha) bt Vintage 2 (Vasant Karkera,Steven Miranda).

Payyade named team of the year

The ninth annual An Evening with Mumbai Cricket function celebrated the Mumbai team’s 40th win at the National Championships. The event’s award ceremony saw Payyade Sports Club (PSC) adjudged ‘team of the year’ after the PSC won the ‘A’ Division Kanga League and Police Shield. PSC’s captain was awarded the Late Ashok Mankad Trophy for Super Captain of Mumbai’s domestic cricket in the senior division,while Podar College’s captain,Raunaq Sharma won the award in the junior division. India U-19 player Sarfaraz Khan was announced the Best Junior Cricketer of Mumbai. Former cricketing greats Madhav Apate,Ms Diana Edulji,Dinesh Nanavati,Makarand Waingankar,Milind Wagale,Bomi Jamula,Ashish Patankar,Yashwant Chad,Shirish Mallapurkar,Satish Nachane,Dr Unmesh Khanvilkar,Ramesh Mhamunkar and Deepak Joshi were also honoured at the occasion given their contribution to Mumbai cricket.

Rizvi emerge U-14 DSO champions

Rizvi Springfield High School emerged Maharashtra State champions in the DSO Inter-District U-14 Cricket Championship for the Vinoo Mankad Trophy. The Mumbai school defeated Ramrao Adik Public School of Srirampur by 39 runs in the finals held in Ahmednagar,Srirampur,last week. Batting first,Rizvi managed to score 116 for six in 20 overs with the help of timely knocks from Harsh Tripathi (33) and Vaibhav Kadambkar (34). In reply,Ramrao Adik were folded out for 77 in 18.2 overs. Off spinners Faizanul Rabbani,Shreyas Mandlik and seamers Akash Yadav stole the show for Rizvi with three wickets each. Sagar Chabbria was adjudged man of the series for his consistent perfomances with the bat.