Ameya Walavalkar wins Race One

AMEYAWalavalkar continued his great start to the weekend by winning Race One of Round Three of the Volkswagen Polo R Cup at the MMRT in Chennai.

Written by Express News Service | Published: August 29, 2012 5:06:43 am

AMEYAWalavalkar continued his great start to the weekend by winning Race One of Round Three of the Volkswagen Polo R Cup at the MMRT in Chennai. He completed the entire race in total time of 20:30:378. 2010 Polo R Cup Champion Sailesh Bolisetti finished in second spot,1.640 behind the leader,and Sandeep Kumar finished in third place,8.881 seconds off the leader.

Ameya,who started on pole,had a great start and led into the first corner followed by Sandeep and Avdumber Hede. However,due to a collision at the second corner between Yatin Magu and Alisha Abdullah,the race was red-flagged. At the restart,Ameya once again got off the line well and led away from guest driver Sailesh and Sandeep. Ameya pulled away from the pack and maintained his lead to win his second race of the season. Sailesh finished second while Sandeep finished third after a close battle with Avdumber in the latter part of the race.

Ameya almost lost out to Sandeep after missing a gear in the first lap. He said,“At the first start,I missed a gear but the race was red flagged,giving me an opportunity to pull away from the rest of the field at the restart. The track was good but tricky in some places as there were puddles. I would like to thank the Volkswagen team who have been fantastic the entire weekend. The technicians here are amazing as they worked relentlessly to ensure we had the best possible car for the race.”

Second place finisher Sailesh said “I was 1.394 seconds behind in qualifying and knew I had to go faster in the race to challenge for the lead. I managed to set similar times to Ameya but could not come close enough. It took me some time to get used the new TSI Race Polo but the more I drove it the more comfortable I was. I am looking forward to the second race as it will be fun to battle from seventh on the grid.”

Sandeep said,“I had a good start the first time round but then the race was red-flagged. Second time around I had too much wheel spin and lost a place to Sailesh and barely kept Avdumber behind. It was impossible to keep up with Sailesh so I just maintained my position to finish on the podium.”

The results and total times from Race One of Round Three of Polo R Cup 2012: Position: 1. Ameya Walavalkar (00:20:30.378) 2. Sailesh Bolisetti (00:20:32.018) 3. Sandeep Kumar (00:20:39.259) 4. Avdumber Hede (00:20:39.371) 5. Ajay Kini (00:20:47.104) 6. Mihir Dharkar (00:20:50.602) 7. Donavan Vaz (00:20:53.463) 8. Saurav Bandyopadhay (00:20:54.199) 9. Rahil Noorani (00:20:55.178) 10. Munjal Savla (00:21:00.869) 11. Anthony George (00:21:03.207) 12. Niranjan Todkari (00:21:03.962) 13. Angad Singh Matharoo (00:21:06.432) 14. Diego Duez (00:21:07.741) 15. Hanoosh S

(00:21:19.439) 16. Siddharth Sharma (00:21:21.102) 17. Mahinder Khidia (00:21:25.398) 18. Prashanth Tharani Singh DNF. 19. Alisha Abdullah DNF 20. Yatin Magu DNF

For all the latest Mumbai News, download Indian Express App