Follow Us:
Monday, December 06, 2021

Maharashtra: 63.33% voter turnout in Deglur bypoll

Congress and BJP are in a direct fight in the bypoll, which was necessitated following the death of Congress legislator Raosaheb Antapurkar due to Covid in April.

By: Express News Service | Mumbai |
October 31, 2021 3:06:03 am
Deglur bypoll, Deglur, Congress, BJP, Nanded, bypoll, byelectionThe assembly by-elections were held in five seats in Assam, four in West Bengal, three each in Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh and Meghalaya, two each in Bihar, Karnataka and Rajasthan and one seat each in Andhra Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra, Mizoram and Telangana. (Representational Photo)

The by-election for the Deglur Assembly constituency in Nanded district reported approximately 63.33 per cent voter turnout on Saturday.

Officials from the Chief Electoral Officer’s office said that the final figures of the turnout will be available on Sunday. There are a total of 2,98,353 registered voters in the constituency. The voting took place from 7 am to 7 pm on Saturday and counting of votes will be held on November 2.

The ruling Congress and the Opposition BJP are in a direct fight in the bypoll, which was necessitated following the death of Congress legislator Raosaheb Antapurkar due to Covid-19 in April. While the Congress has fielded Jitesh, son of late

MLA Raosaheb Antapurkar, the BJP has nominated Subhash Sabne, a former Shiv Sena legislator who recently joined BJP ahead of the bypoll.

There are 12 candidates in the fray. Besides Jitesh Antapurkar and Sabne, the candidates in the fray are Uttam Ingole of the Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi and Vivek Kerurkar of the Janata Dal (Secular) among others.

The bypoll saw senior leaders of Congress, NCP and BJP campaigning. Congress’ Ashok Chavan, PWD minister and guardian minister of Nanded, Revenue Minister Balasaheb Torat, Relief and Rehabilitation Minister Vijay Wadettiwar and AICC secretary and party in-charge for Maharashtra H K Patil, among others. NCP leaders and ministers Chhagan Bhujbal, Dhananjay Munde, Nawab Malik and Sena also leaders campaigned for the bypoll.

Further, Leader of Opposition in the state Assembly, Devendra Fadnavis, state BJP president Chandrakant Patil and Union Minister of State for Railways campaigned.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Mumbai News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard