Mahasampark Abhiyan: In Sangh, BJP finds its team monitors

Prakash Sharma was the VHP’s national spokesperson and had also served as national convener for Bajrang Dal.

Written by Lalmani Verma | Lucknow | Published: July 23, 2015 1:58:12 am

Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) has taken up the charge of BJP’s ongoing Mahasampark Abhiyan in Uttar Pradesh with seven of the 10 members in the state-monitoring team hailing from the outfit and its wings Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP) and Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP). The party’s 90 units in the districts have been divided into eight regions. One member each has been assigned the responsibility to oversee the Abhiyan in these regions.

The state-monitoring committee is headed by the BJP’s state vice-president Prakash Sharma. Sharma was the VHP’s national spokesperson and had also served as national convener for Bajrang Dal.

In the Abhiyan, he is being assisted by two co-incharge, Govind Narain Shukla of Amethi and Ashwini Tyagi of Meerut. While Shukla, a full-time BJP worker, is currently the party’s vice-president for Kashi region, Tyagi had been the ABVP’s ‘vibhag sanyojak’ in western UP before he was appointed as the state secretary for the BJP.

Share This Article
Related Article

ABVP’s full-time worker Nikhilesh Singh is currently monitoring the Abhiyan in 14 districts in Awadh region, while the campaign in 19 districts in western UP is being overseen by Mithilesh Tripathi. Alok Shukla, another ABVP worker who was also its state co-secretary, is monitoring the campaign in 11 districts in Brij and 5 in Ruhelkhand regions.

Shiv Kumar Arya, who is monitoring the campaign in 8 districts each in Bundelkhand and Kanpur regions, was once a full-time RSS worker. Prakhar Gupta, who is managing the committee’s office, too, was a full-time ABVP worker before being given the latest task in the BJP.

Besides these eight, the remaining two members of the committee — Utkarsh Tiwari and Saurabh Rai — are part of BJP’s youth wing, Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha. While Tiwari is monitoring the campaign in 14 districts in Kashi region, Rai is in charge of overseeing the campaign work in 11 districts in Gorakhpur region.

These leaders make random calls to BJP office-bearers at region, district, mandal and booth level units every day and enquire about their day-to-day programmes related to the Abhiyan. They also seek information on the “problems” being faced by them and prepare a list of those who are “not taking interest” in the campaign.

When asked about the “preference” being accorded to RSS workers, the committee in-charge Prakash Sharma said: “Workers are taken for any particular job depending on their availability and interest. ABVP workers remain active in politics since their student life and can give more time to the organisation. Transfer of workers between RSS and its wings is a routine process.”

The BJP has also formed monitoring committees at regional, district, mandal and booth level. There is an organisation secretary (who similarly hails from RSS), president and sampark pramukh at the regional monitoring committee. District committee is being handled by a district president, pravasi and a sampark pramukh while a president and a pravasi comprise the mandal committee; an in-charge with a pravasi are deployed to manage the booth-level monitoring committee.

Sharma said that the party has decided to extend the special drive of Mahasampark Abhiyan for “active members” till July 30 so that they could complete the formalities regarding the membership of minimum 100 members. Sharma said that the monitoring team has finalised a list of those committee members at district and mandal level who are not taking interest in the campaign, adding that this list will be sent to the national leadership.

The BJP’s Mahasampark Abhiyan is a door-to-door campaign involving membership process of those who had shown interest in joining the party by dropping a ‘missed call’ on the toll free number during the membership campaign that concluded on April 30.

For all the latest Ludhiana News, download Indian Express App