Sunday, Sep 25, 2022

Artistes,social workers given awards at Lohri Mela

The Malwa Sabyacharak Manch organised the Lohri Mela here with great fervour and gaiety.

The Malwa Sabyacharak Manch organised the Lohri Mela here with great fervour and gaiety. The secretary and spokesman of the All India Congress Committee,Manish Tewari was the chief guest who distributed the awards and honours.

The Manch has been organising the mela for last 15 years. The unique feature of the mela is that it is celebrated for the girl child instead of male child, as is the usual practice in the state.

Given the alarming decline in the sex ratio,celebrating Lohri for the male children needed to be discouraged,said the mela organisers. The Manch also honoured nine persons for maing outstanding contribution in their respective fields. Also,15 girls were given a scholarship of Rs 51,00 each for their education.

Dr MS Randhawa memorial award was given to Dr KS Aulakh for contribution to agricultural; Brig Dalip Singh Olympian memorial award to Mandep Kaur for contribution to sports; Lal Chand Yamla Jatt memorial award to Inderjit Nikku for contribution to Punjabi folk singing; Dr V.N. Tewari memorial award to Gurbhajan Gill for contribution to Punjabi culture and literature; Mohd Rafi memorial award to Jaspinder Narula for film play-back singing; Bhai Ghanaya memorial award to Dr Inderjit Kaur for social service; Mother Teressa memorial award to Varinder Kaur for service to society; Dalip Singh Sond memorial award to Mandeep Singh Hans for social service; and I.S. Johar memorial award to Rana Ranbir for contribution to comedy.

Subscriber Only Stories
From the Explained editor: Short histories of the CBI and ED, live stream...Premium
The Muslim political predicamentPremium
Tamil Nadu opposes NEET, its students perform better: share in 95 percent...Premium
Real-time weather alerts, tests & tips: Kashmir gets an app for applesPremium

The awardees were presented with a gold medal,memento,shawl and a citation. Also rewris,gachak,pugga,and pea nuts were distributed among the people on the occasion. A large gathering at the function were enthralled by leading singers like Labh Janjua (of Singh is King fame),Inderjit Nikku,Diljit,Sarbjit Cheema,Ravinder Grewal,Sukhwinder Sukhi and others. Prominent among those present on the occasion included AICC secretary and spokesman Manish Tewari,chairman of the Manch,KK Bawa,president Pawan Dewan,patron Surinder Singh Kooner,convener Ravinder Rangoowal,vice-president Chaman Lal Batra,vice-chairman Ashok Makkar and general secretaries Joginder Singh and Jarnail Singh Toor. Besides,noted cultural activist Jagdev Singh Jassowal was also present on the occasion.

First published on: 10-01-2009 at 03:44:41 am
Next Story

Complaint against LIT upheld

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments