Saturday, Feb 04, 2023

Zila panchayat chairperson polls: Mulayam’s nephew, niece among 33 SP leaders set to be elected unopposed

The election results are likely be declared on January 4.

Mulayam Singh Yadav’s nephew and niece are among 33 Samajwadi Party candidates who are set to be elected unopposed in elections to the post of zila panchayat chairman in Uttar Pradesh. After the nomination process got over Friday, the ruling party claimed that in 33 districts no other candidate has filed papers for the election.

Among the districts where only one nomination was received include Etawah and Mainpuri, both considered SP turf. Mulayam’s nephew Abhishek Yadav alias Anshul Yadav filed nomination from Etawah, while the SP chief’s niece Sandhya Yadav filed papers from Mainpuri. Anshul is son of Rajpal Yadav, younger brother of Mulayam. Anshul’s mother Premlata is the sitting chairman of Etawah district panchayat.

Sandhya is daughter of Mulayam’s another brother Abhay Ram Yadav. Sandhya is married to Anujesh Yadav, son of former MLA Urmila Yadav of Bharol. Her brother and Lok Sabha MP from Baduan, Dharmendra Yadav had been camping to oversee her election.

Apart from these two, relatives of several other SP leaders are set to be elected unopposed. They include state minister Arvind Singh Gope’s brother Ashok Singh from Barabanki, minister Vinod Kumar Singh alias Pandit Singh’s daughter-in-law Shradha Singh from Gonda, MLC Ashu Malik’s brother Noor Hasan Malik, minister Kailash Yadav’s son Virendra Yadav from Ghazipur and minister Raj Kishore Singh’s son Devendra Pratap Singh from Basti.

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Key- February 3, 2023: Learn about Coastal Regulation Zone, Follow-o...
JCB Prize for Literature 2022-winning translator Baran Farooqi on growing...
Delhi Confidential: Meet, greet and part in Parliament
In Jamtara, old panchayat buildings turned into libraries and study circl...

Other districts where only one nomination was received paving way for unopposed election of zila panchayat chairmen include Etah, Kasganj, Ferozabad, Kanpur Dehat, Kanpur Nagar, Jhansi, Jalaun, Hamirpur, Mahoba, Chitrakoot, Bhadohi, Azamgarh, Mau, Ballia, Deoria, Sidharthnagar, Shrawasti, Bahriach, Faizabad, Lucknow, Lakhimpur Kheri, Hardoi, Badaun, Sambhal, Amroha, Ghaziabad and Bulandshahr.

SP’s state spokesperson Rajendra Choudhary, in a statement Friday evening, termed it as a victory of policies of Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav.

The election results are likely be declared on January 4.

First published on: 02-01-2016 at 00:39 IST
Next Story

Smriti Irani keeps promise: Rae Bareli youth’s body reaches Lucknow

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments