Follow Us:
Monday, July 16, 2018

SP replaces BJP deserter with minister’s wife for Fatehpur Sikri

The ruling Samajwadi Party Saturday announced Rani Pakshalika Singh as its candidate for Fatehpur Sikri parliamentary constituency.

Written by Express News Service | Lucknow | Published: October 6, 2013 4:55:58 am

The ruling Samajwadi Party Saturday announced Rani Pakshalika Singh as its candidate for Fatehpur Sikri parliamentary constituency,replacing Rajendra Singh who was earlier announced as the party’s candidate from the seat.

Party president Mulayam Singh Yadav has declared Pakshalika Singh as the party candidate,SP’s national general secretary Ramgopal Yadav said in a statement issued here.

No reasons were given by the party for the replacement.

Pakshalika Singh is the wife of Minister for stamps and registration,Raja Aridaman Singh and had unsuccessfully contested last year’s Assembly election from Kheragarh seat in Agra. Her husband,however,had won from Bah seat in Agra and was inducted as a cabinet minister by Akhilesh Yadav.

Rajendra Singh,who has been replaced,was elected as BJP MLA in 2007 and had joined SP before 2012 assembly election,which he later contested unsuccessfully from Fatehabad Assembly seat in Agra.

Rajendra’s supporters protested against the decision and gathered in large numbers at his residence in Shamsabad locality. They raised slogans against SP leadership.

Earlier,Raja Aridaman Singh had met Mulayam at the party office in Lucknow on Friday where he was given the nod for his wife’s candidature,sources in the party said.

SP has declared 76 candidates for 80 seats in UP.

Meanwhile,CM Akhilesh Yadav reiterated that Assembly Speaker Mata Prasad Pandey will remain SP’s candidate from Dumariaganj parliamentary seat. State spokesperson,Rajendra Choudhary informed newsmen that Mulayam had asked Akhilesh to clarify that Pandey is the party’s official candidate from Dumariaganj.

Lately,there were reports that Muslims in Dumariaganj have turned against Pandey and that SP will change its candidate. Local Muslims claimed that five block pramukhs,all from Muslim community,were removed by a no confidence motion at the behest of Pandey. However,SP officials denied the reports.

The party,meanwhile,also declared its candidate for MLC seat from graduate constituency. Sunil Kumar Singh Patel will contest from Varanasi in place of Gopal Singh while Harinarayan Mishra will contest from Allahabad and Jyotsana Srivastava from Lucknow.

For all the latest Lucknow News, download Indian Express App