Follow Us:
Thursday, May 26, 2022

Notification today for 14 seats in Fifth Phase

The impact of BJP candidate Varun Gandhi’s detention under the NSA and SP leader Azam Khan’s ire on Mulayam Singh Yadav’s friendship with Kalyan Singh will be tested in the fifth phase of elections in the state.

Written by Alka Pande | Lucknow |
April 17, 2009 2:51:31 am

The impact of BJP candidate Varun Gandhi’s detention under the NSA and SP leader Azam Khan’s ire on Mulayam Singh Yadav’s friendship with Kalyan Singh will be tested in the fifth phase of elections in the state.

Notification for 14 western Uttar Pradesh constituencies — which will go to polls on May 13 — will be issued on Friday.

The constituencies are Saharanpur,Bijnor,Nagina,Moradabad,Rampur,Sambhal,Amroha,Badaun,Aonla,Bareilly,Pilibhit,Shahjahanpur,Kheri and Dhaurehra.

In the last Lok Sabha polls,among the 14 seats,while the SP had won six,the BJP and the BSP had won two each. The rest were shared by the Congress,RLD,JD(U) and an Independent.

Best of Express Premium

UPSC Key – May 26, 2022: Why and What to know about Hawala Transaction to...Premium
BJP big guns to lend Himachal CM Jai Ram Thakur a hand as corruption, fac...Premium
Explained: The message behind Margaret Atwood’s ‘unburnable&#...Premium
Welcome to the elusive world of crypto mining: Rohtak rig, 3 engineers, R...Premium

This time,however,the equations have changed. The BJP and the RLD are contesting together and aim at increasing their numbers. The BJP also hopes to benefit from the Varun Gandhi controversy,who after being granted parole on Thursday,is expected to reach the masses with a stronger force. The party has already planned public meetings by Yogi Aditya Nath and Narendra Modi.

The problem faced by SP is that many of its candidates,who had won the last elections,are contesting from rival parties this time. Salim Sehrwani,who won the Badaun seat on an SP ticket in 2004,is contesting under the Congress banner. Shafiqur Rehman Burq,who won the Moradabad seat as a SP candidate is now contesting from Sambhal on an BSP ticket.

Also,mafia-turned-politician D P Yadav,who had contested against SP’s Ram Gopal Yadav under his own party banner Rashtriya Parivartan Dal in 2004,will now contest against SP’s Dharmendra Yadav on an BSP ticket. An interesting contest is expected in Rampur,where sitting MP Jaya Prada is facing opposition from her own party leader Azam Khan.

Besides,the Congress,after failing to strike an alliance with the SP in Uttar Pradesh,has fielded its former MP Noor Bano from the royal family.

This time even the BJP has fielded its party general secretary Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi from Rampur,who has not won any election so far.

Similarly,the road for Congress sitting MP and Cabinet minister Jitin Prasada is also not very smooth. Last year,he won from his father’s constituency Shahjahanpur. But delimitation has made his seat a reserved one. Now,Prasada is contesting from Dhaurehra.

The Congress is also depending on Mohammed Azaharuddin,whom the party has fielded from Moradabad.

Key candidates

* Noor Bano from Rampur
* Jitin Prasada from Dhaurehra
* Mohammed Azharuddin from Moradabad

* Varun Gandhi from Pilibhit
* Maneka Gandhi from Aola
* Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi from Rampur

Jaya Prada from Rampur

D P Yadav from Badaun

‘CRIMINAL’ CANDIDATES of the final phase
D P Yadav (BSP): Badaun

Former Rajya Sabha member D P Yadav merged his party Rashtriya Parivartan Dal with the BSP in 2008. He has been involved in cases of murder,attempt to murder,robbery,kidnapping and extortion. He has also been booked under the Gangster Act
Police: Yadav has 40 cases,including nine murder charges

Om Prakash Gupta (SP): Dhaurehra
Six-time MLA from Sitapur,Gupta has 70 criminal cases against him,including three of murder and 11 of attempts to murder. He began his political career as an Independent and later joined the Samajwadi Party. In 2002,he was booked for forcibly taking away a man from police custody. In 2007,he was booked for conspiring to kill a gram pradhan
Gupta: All the cases are false. This is happening because I have been fighting against the wrong policies of the government

Mehboob Ali (SP): Jyotiba Phule Nagar
Three-time MLA from Amroha,Ali has 29 criminal cases against him,including dacoity,land-grabbing and has also been booked under the Goonda Act
Police: He has a history-sheet at the Jyotiba Phule Nagar Kotwali

Haji Rizwan (SP): Moradabad
Former MLA from Moradabad,Rizwan was accused of booth capturing in the 1999 Lok Sabha elections. Last year,he was booked for preventing a candidate from going to the polling booth. There are eight cases against him,including two of attempts to murder
Rizwan: The state government has falsely implicated me

Sarvesh Kumar Singh (BJP): Moradabad
Four-time MLA from Moradabad,Singh was booked in six cases in 2007. The Electricity department lodged an FIR against him for obtaining an illegal power connection in his factory. In all,there are 18 cases against him,including one of attempt to murder
Singh: The state government has falsely framed me

For all the latest Lucknow News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard