National cricket tourney for differently abled from today

The sixth national cricket tournament for the differently abled will be organised by Indian Cricket Federation for Disabled in collaboration with ‘Mobility India’ from March 28 to 30 at Lucknow

Written by Express News Service | Lucknow | Published: March 28, 2012 3:44:42 am

The sixth national cricket tournament for the differently abled will be organised by Indian Cricket Federation for Disabled (ICFD) in collaboration with ‘Mobility India’ from March 28 to 30 at Lucknow.

Secretary general ICFD Dr AW Siddiqui informed that 24 teams—Rajasthan,Borivali,Pondicherry,West Bengal,Hyderabad,Haryana,Mobility India,Saptak,Uttarakhand,Bihar,Delhi,Tamil Nadu,Andhra Pradesh,Baroda,Madhya Pradesh,Chhattisgarh,C Railway,Karnataka,Uttar Pradesh,Chandigarh,Gujarat,Jharkhand,NCR and Maharashtra will be taking part in the tournament. The participating teams have been divided into eight pools. The league matches will be played on Wednesday and Thursday. The quarter-finals will also be played on Thursday while the semi-finals and finals will be played on Friday.

“For the first time players from the Munda and Santhal tribes will also be taking part in the tournament. They will be a part of the Jharkhand team,” he informed.

The matches will a 20-overs-a-side affair. Matches will be played KD Singh ‘Babu’ Stadium,Colvin College,NR Stadium and Chowk Stadium. The tournament will be inaugurated at 10.00 am on Wednesday at KD Singh ‘Babu’ Stadium,Lucknow.

The UP team includes:

Daroga Yadav (captain),Avadhesh Tripathi (vice captain),Vinod Kumar,Ramesh Kumar Pal,Abu Hubaida,Girijesh Kumar,Parmanand,Shahid Khan Manju,Devendra Singh,Subodh Kumar Rai,Kuldeep Kanaujia,Vikram Nag,Jitendra Kumar Yadav,M Azharuddin; Coach: Umesh; Manager: Santosh Kumar Gupta.


The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Lucknow Billiards & Snooker Association will be held at 12.00 noon on April 15 at the Kool Break restaurant,Ashok Marg,Lucknow. Members may contact IS Malik for details.

Rakesh excels

All-round efforts by Rakesh Yadav 52 runs; 2 for 3) went a long way as his team— Young Challengers Cricket Club defeated LDA Coaching Centre (LDACC) by five wickets in the semi-final match of the Babu Banarsi Das ‘C’ Division League at LDA Stadium,Lucknow on Tuesday,

Brief Scores:-

LDA Coaching Centre: 94 all out in 27.2 overs ( Gaurav Yadav 19,Kartikeya Jaiswal 15; Shoaib Khan 3 for 28,Rakesh Yadav 2 for 3,Chandresh Kumar 2 for 6,Navneet Yadav 2 for 18);

Young Challengers Cricket Club: 98 for five in 17.3 overs ( Rakesh Yadav 52; Priyanshu Anand 3 for 26,Kartikeya Jaiswal 2 for 26).

Ubaid,Imtiyaz shine

Impressive batting efforts by Ubaid Kamal (87 runs off 44 balls; 7×4,4×6) and Imtiyaz Ahmed (55) helped Bulls XI in registering a 102-run win against Youth Club in their league match of the Summer Cup Twenty20 Cricket Tournament at KD Singh ‘Babu’ Stadium,Lucknow on Tuesday.

Awadh Sky Sports Academy defeated Multi Activity Centre by 38 runs in another league match of the same tourney.

Brief Scores:-
(1st match):-

Bulls XI: 197 for five ( Ubaid Kamal 87,Imtiyaz Ahmed 55,Vimal Pandey 16; Sachin 1 for 23,Umesh 1 for 9);

Youth Club: 95 all out in 20 overs ( Saurabh Singh 27,Aman 15,Aditya 15; Durgesh 2 for 5,Deepak Taneja 2 for 19);

(2nd match):-

Awadh Sky Sports Academy: 108 all out in 18 overs ( Farhan 20,Imtiyaz 27; Shashwat 4 for 14,Nimish Bhatia 2 for 18); Multi Activity Centre: 70 all out in 17.5 overs ( Abhinav Mishra 24; H Khan 3 for 27,Noor Alam 2 for 6,Pramod Kumar 2 for 14).

For all the latest Lucknow News, download Indian Express App