Thursday, Sep 29, 2022

Impressive win for Orissa in All India BSNL cricket tourney

Bikas Swaroop’s 95 came off 72 balls and featured five boundaries and four lofty sixes.

Impressive batting by Bikas Swaroop (95) and Tukna Sahoo (81) and devastating bowling by BBCC Mahapatra (5 for 11),Surender Nayak (3 for 1) and Sanjay Sathpathi (2 for 2) went a long way as Orissa defeated MTNL New Delhi by 196 runs in their quarter-final match of the 10th All India BSNL Cricket Tournament-2011 at LDA Stadium,Lucknow on Monday. Bikas Swaroop’s 95 came off 72 balls and featured five boundaries and four lofty sixes. Tukna Sahoo’s 81 resulted off 69 balls and featured five boundaries and a lofty six.

Batting first,Orissa scored 239 runs losing five wickets in the given 30 overs. In reply,MTNL New Delhi was bowled out at a total of 43 runs in 17.1 overs.

In the quarter-final match played between Madhya Pradesh and Himachal Pradesh at Pt. RB Tiwari Stadium,the former registered a 93-run victory. Batting first,Madhya Pradesh scored 141 runs losing six wickets in 30 overs. In reply,Himachal Pradesh team was all out at a total of 48 runs in 16.4 overs.

Madhya Pradesh bowlers never allowed the Himachal Pradesh batsmen to settle at the crease. Its bowlers Ambalal Patidar (3 for 7),Shantanu Pitre (2 for 6) and Sunil Dholpure (2 for 8) bowled with good vision.

Subscriber Only Stories
The Kohinoor, Cullinan and the enduring demand for reparations across the...Premium
Terror links to training sites to targeted killings: Govt’s case against PFIPremium
In Gujarat, the National Games, garba and the start of election feverPremium
G-20 presidency is an opportunity to position India as the voice of the G...Premium

Brief Scores:- (1st quarter-final): Madhya Pradesh: 141 for six in 30.0 overs ( Brijesh Tomar 36,Sunil Dholpure 26,G Satish Kumar 21,Ambalal Patidar 13,Jyotiraditya Singh 12,Shantanu Pitre 12; Divya Prakash 3 for 12,Sushil Kumar 1 for 29); Himachal Pradesh: 48 all out in 16.4 overs ( Yashvinder Singh 11,Pawan Kumar 11; Ambalal Patidar 3 for 7,Shantanu Pitre 2 for 6,Sunil Dholpure 2 for 8);

(2nd quarter-final): Orissa: 239 for five in 30 overs ( Bikas Swaroop 95,Tukna Sahoo 81,Niranjan Behra 20 not out,Priyaranjan 14; Ravinder Panwar 2 for 38); MTNL New Delhi: 43 all out in 17.1 overs ( Ravinder Panwar 21; BBCC Mahapatra 5 for 11,Surender Nayak 3 for 1,Sanjay Sathpathi 2 for 2).

Tuesday’s Fixtures: 3rd Quarter-final: NTR Delhi vs Punjab (at KD Singh ‘Babu’ Stadium); 4th Quarter-final: UP East vs MTNL Mumbai (at LDA Stadium).

LCA Hostel triumphs


LCA Hostel team defeated Zangam Sports,Assam by 15 runs in their league match of the 10th Dussehra Trophy cricket tournament at Chowk Stadium,Lucknow on Monday. The tournament was inaugurated by former Ranji Trophy player Neeru Kapoor.

Brief Scores: LCA Hostel: 120 all out in 29.1 overs ( Yogesh 28,A Singh 22,Abhishek Ranjan 14; Nayan Tamuli 3 for 19,Riyaz Ali 2 for 19); Zangam Sports,Assam: 105 all out in 28 overs ( Jarifur 29,Nayan Tamuli 11,Ashish Malakar 10; Dharmendra Singh 2 for 13,Nooman Khan 2 for 15,Harsh Gangwar 2 for 19,Satya Prakash 2 for 23).

UP team camp

The Uttar Pradesh team probables’ camp is in progress at Kanpur. Talking to The Indian Express,a selector informed that net practice was organised on Monday. The camp will come to a close on Tuesday after which the UP team for the upcoming season will be announced.

First published on: 27-09-2011 at 02:42:08 am
Next Story

Ravindra is the show-stealer

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments