Delay in rural elections pushes back MLC polls

The term of the existing zila panchayat members —— elected five years ago —- expires on January 17.

Written by Lalmani Verma | Lucknow | Published: December 24, 2015 12:26:37 am

When the next session of the UP Legislative Council begins on January 29, the 100-member House will be at least 36 members short.

That is because the terms of 34 MLCs of the BSP, and one each of the Congress and Samajwadi Party, expire on January 15, and the Election Commission of India (ECI) is finding it difficult to hold elections for the seats due to the delayed panchayat polls.

According to the ECI, elections to fill the 36 Legislative Council seats will be possible after March and may be completed by May. Chief Electoral Officer Arun Singhal said that a detailed report on the situation has been sent to the ECI, which has to take decision on the schedule of the election.

The 36 members will be elected by members of zila panchayat, kshetra panchayat, village pradhans, mayors, corporators, chairpersons of Nagar Panchayat and Nagar Palika Parishads and their corporators, local MPs, MLAs and members of Cantonment Boards. The panchayat elections are still going on, and the EC will be able to prepare the electoral roll for the MLC elections only after the panchayat polls are completed, election officials said.

Election of zila panchayat chairmen is scheduled for January 7, while the schedule of the kshetra panchayat chairman election is yet to be announced by the State Election Commission.

The term of the existing zila panchayat members —— elected five years ago —- expires on January 17.

Likewise, the term of existing kshetra panchayat members expires on March 17.

The MLC elections could be conducted with the existing members of zila panchayats and kshetra panchayats. However, an official said, “The election process will take at least 40 days. It is possible that the newly elected panchayat members could become eligible voters. Revision of electoral rolls during the election would not be possible. Hence election is being avoided till the panchayat elections are completed.”

When the Assembly session begins on January 29, the SP will be in majority in the Legislative Council with 29 members. The BSP, which enjoyed majority with 45 members, will lose 34 of its members, including legislative council chairman Ganesh Shanker Pandey, as their terms will expire on January 15. Since 2012, the SP has faced trouble in the Upper House with BSP members using its numerical strength to stall proceedings and getting several important bills referred to the select committee.

Apart from the BSP and SP, the council includes the BJP with seven seats, Congress with two, RLD with one, Teachers Group with five and independents with four, while seven seats are vacant. Among the vacant seats, five are under nomination category to be approved by the Governor on the recommendation of the state government.


BSP MLC Parmeshwar Lal Saini, whose term in the Legislative Council expires on January 15, joined the BJP on Wednesday along with his supporters in the presence of party state president Laxmikant Bajpai. He is MLC from Moradabad local body constituency.

Saini’s son Jai Prakash (37) joined the BJP in July. At that time, Saini had claimed that he was committed to serving the BSP.

Along with Saini and leaders of other parties, 36 village pradhans and 12 kshetra panchayat members also joined the BJP on Wednesday. ENS

For all the latest Lucknow News, download Indian Express App