Follow Us:
Monday, June 25, 2018

BJP forms six panels to probe complaints against rebel workers

Bharatiya Janata Party has decided to probe the complaints of indiscipline received against party workers during the polls.

Written by Lalmani Verma | Lucknow | Published: March 22, 2012 2:42:34 am

Following the debacle in UP Assembly elections,the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has decided to probe the complaints of indiscipline received against party workers during the polls.

The party has formed six regional committees to probe the complaints,identify the guilty workers and recommend action against them.

Sources said that the party had received more than 400 complaints from different parts of the state during the elections that certain BJP workers and leaders were campaigning against the party candidate and helping rival parties. Party leaders claimed that because of such workers the party faced defeat with a narrow margin on over a dozen seats.

Each of the six committees comprises of three members,who will visit the constituencies to look into these complaints and identify guilty workers. There is one committee in each region including Gorakhpur,Braj,Paschim,Kashi,Avadh and Kanpur.

State party president Surya Pratap Shahi said: “These committees would inquire into the complaints and submit their report by March 30.”

State party general secretary Narendra Singh has communicated the decision and details of the committees to all regional in-charges,regional presidents,general secretaries and district office bearers. The party has asked them to cooperate with the committee members.

Sources said that this time the BJP is serious about taking action against such workers. “The party could have performed better if such workers had supported the party candidates. On at least five seats,party candidates stood second and lost the election with a margin of less than 1,000,” said a party leader.

For example,BJP candidate Chhatrapal Singh lost Baheri seat with a margin of only 18 votes against SP candidate. Party’s Sunit Dutt Dwivedi faced defeat in Farrukhabad with a margin of only 147 votes and Rajendra Pratap Singh was defeated in Patti by only 156 votes.

“There was resentment among the workers and certain office bearers over distribution of tickets in many constituencies and so they did not help party candidates there. Resentment was strongest where the party gave tickets to outsiders like Badshah Singh in Mahoba,” said a party leader.

For all the latest Lucknow News, download Indian Express App