Three ‘new’ faces from Bengal in central committee

Three ‘new’ faces from Bengal in central committee

Of the 13 new members who were inducted into the central committee of CPM today,three are from West Bengal.

Of the 13 new members who were inducted into the central committee of CPM today,three are from West Bengal. Significantly,all three who made it to the CC were not-so-prominent CPM leaders.

The three veterans are Nripen Chowdhury,Rekha Goswami and Dipak Dasgupta. Two others who were expected to make it to the central committee — Rabin Deb and Sreedip Bhattacharya — were not inducted. Clearly,this time,new members from Bengal have been inducted to the CC to strengthen three most important fronts of the CPM in Bengal — CITU (CPM labour front),Krishak Sabha (CPM farmers’ front) and Mahila Samity (CPM women’s front).

Party sources said that Rekha Goswami,who earned praise from the senior leadership of the party and former chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee for her work as state minister for self-help groups,became an important leader of North 24 Paraganas and was given responsibility to strengthen the CPM women’s front,which has seen a decline in membership in the last two years.

“I” has always been discussed in the party that we are lacking women’s representation. We have a veteran leader from the women front in the central committee. But we always needed more representatives from Bengal to make it to the central committee. In the state conference,reasons for decreasing representation of the women front were discussed and the issue was raised in the 20th Congress in Kozhikode,” “aid a senior state committee leader.


Goswami joined the party in her early 20s as a students’ ‘nion leader. She was elevated to the level of state secretary of the women’s front and she became a state committee member. Goswami,who is often praised in the party as a good orator,won the Dum Dum Assembly constituency in 2006. She was a cabinet minister for self-help groups. She,however,earned the wrath of her rival faction in North 24 Paraganas for backing Majid Master,a tainted CPM leader with murder charges against him.

Nripen Choudhury,another new face in the central committee,has always been looked upn as a ‘h’mble and honest’ ‘eader in the party. His comrades say he is one of those veterans who always maintained a ‘s’mple living’.’Choudhury,who started his career as a school teacher in Murshidabad district,joined the party as a student leader. Then he became leader of the Krishak Sabha and was elevated to the post of acting-secretary of Krishak Sabha. Till early 2000,Choudhury was district secretary of Murshidabad.

In 2001,Choudhury won the Assembly election from Nabagram Assembly constituency in Murshidabad and in 2006,he became MLA of Sagardighi. However,he did not contest elections in 2011.

Dipak Dasgupta,a CPM leader from Howrah,has also been included in the central committee. Dasgupta,who started his political career as a party whole-timer,rose the ranks of CITU,the CPM labour front. Dasgupta was the district secretary of Howrah and in 2002 he was included in the CPM state secretariat. Dasgupta was also elevated to the rank of working secretary of CITU (all-India). He was given charge of East Midnapore after he was included in the state secretariat. However,his role in the Nandigram violence was criticised in the party. A source said,“D”sgupta was never given a ticket for an MLA or an MP. He has always remained a party loyalist who strengthened the organisation of the party in Howrah district and in the labour front of the party.””