Follow Us:
Thursday, October 28, 2021

Rishika,Aishwarya win doubles title,Mayur in final

Top seed Indian duo of Rishika Sunkara and Aishwarya Agrawal annexed the girls’ doubles title of the ONGC ITF Junior Tennis 2009 being played at the DKS Sports Complex here.

Written by Express News Service | Kolkata |
January 24, 2009 2:29:36 am

Top seed Indian duo of Rishika Sunkara and Aishwarya Agrawal annexed the girls’ doubles title of the ONGC ITF Junior Tennis 2009 being played at the DKS Sports Complex here. They defeated the second seeded Russian pair of Anna Rapoport and Natela Dzalamidze 7-6 (7-4),6-2 in 95 minutes.

The first set lasted for 54 minutes. Aishwarya and Rishika came back from 3-5 to take the set in tie break. The second set,which lasted for 32 minutes,was comparatively lop-sided.

Second seed Vaidik Munshaw from Ahmedabad was ousted by wild card Venkat Iyer in the boys’ singles.

The match lasted for 125 minutes. Venkat came back from a set down to win the semi-final match 4-6,6-3,6-4.

The first set lasted for 50 minutes. Munshaw broke Iyer in the fourth and 10th game and got broken in the fifth. The second set was a 31-minute affair.

Iyer was broken in the second game but broke back in the next to restore parity. He then broke Munshaw in the fifth and ninth game. In the decider,both played well but Iyer prevailed after 37 minutes 6-4.

Unseeded Jayaprakash Mohit Mayur defeated eighth seed Sai Kartik Nakireddy in 110 minutes 6-2,4-6,6-3 to set date with Iyer in the final.

The first set saw Nakireddy loses serve in the third,fifth and seventh game. He broke Mohit Mayur in the fourth game. In the second set,Nakireddy came back with two breaks in the sixth and 10th to take the set 6-4. In the decider,Mohit Mayur came on top,courtesy a solitary break in the fifth game.

Eighth seeded Russian Anna Rapoport stormed into the girls’ singles finals defeating unseeded Sharmada Balu 6-3,6-2 in 95 minutes.

In the first set,Balu managed to keep her serve only in the fifth game. Rapoport retained her fourth and sixth service games. Rapoport started playing better in the second set breaking Sharmada in the second,sixth and eighth game while losing only one service game in the set.

Defending champions and fifth seed Sweta Kumari Solanki kept on course for her second title when she ended the dream run of unseeded Prerna Bhambri defeating her in three sets in 155 minutes. The first set lasted for 76 minutes. Solanki took the set 7-5 breaking Bhambri in the first,fifth and 11th game.

She lost her serves in the fourth and eighth game. In the second set,Bhambri came back from a 2-4 deficit to take the set 6-4 in 40 minutes.

Bhambri lost her serves in the first and fifth game and Solanki lost her serves in the fourth,eighth and 10th game.

In the third set,Solanki pulled her game up a few notches and broke Bhambri in the third and fifth game to take the set and book her place in the finals.

Today’s results (Indians if not specified): Boys’ singles semi-finals: Jayaprakash Mohit Mayur (309) beat Sai Kartik Nakireddy (8) (235) 6-2,4-6,6-3; Venkat Iyer (WC) (652) beat Vaidik Munshaw (2) (155) 4-6,6-3,6-4.

Girls’ singles semi-finals: Shweta Kumari Solanki (5) (248) beat Prerna Bhambri (314) 7-5,4-6,6-1; Anna Rapoport (8) (Rus) (267) beat Sharmada Balu (294) 6-3,6-2.

Girls’ doubles final: Rishika Sunkara & Aishwarya Agrawal (1) beat Anna Rapoport (Rus) & Natela Dzalamidze (Rus) (2) 7-6 (7-4),6-2.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Kolkata News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard