Mamata celebrates with star-studded show

Mamata celebrates with star-studded show

z 24 stalwarts awarded Bangabibhushan,6 get Bangabhushan

On the day her government completed two years in office,Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee today distributed Bangabibhushan and Bangabhushan awards among stalwarts based in West Bengal who had excelled in various fields including cinema,painting,sports and music.

This year 24 people received the highest civilian award of the state,which carries a cash prize of Rs 1.2 lakh. They include former India cricket captain Saurav Ganguly,actors Mithun Chakrabarty,Sabitri Chatterjee,Sandhya Roy,former footballers P K Banerjee and Chuni Goswami,former hockey captain Gurbux Singh,dansesuse Thankamani Kutty and industrialist B K Birla.

Six people received Bangabhushan awards including tennis ace Leander Paes,chess player Dubyendu Barua,table tennis players Mantu Ghosh and Poulomi Ghatak. The Bangabhushan award carries a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh.

The award was instituted by Mamata in 2011,the year she came to power.


“Today the government of Ma Mati Manush completed two years in office and we are happy to present these awards to those who made their mark in various fields,who have made us proud. I am grateful to all of them,’’ Mamata said.

Governor M K Narayanan,who gave away the awards,praised the chief minister for felicitating stalwarts from various fields.