Krishnagar civic body poll: Congress,Left members join TMC

The TMC Tuesday nominated its candidates for the KMC by-election in ward numbers 1 and 24.

Written by Express News Service | Kolkata | Published: October 16, 2013 3:00:59 am

Ahead of Krishnagar municipal elections in Nadia district,15 Congress leaders and some Left Front members Tuesday joined the Trinamool Congress converting the Congress-led 24-member civic body into TMC-led board.

Confirming the Congress switch,TMC general secretary Mukul Roy said,“After taking over Haldia municipality in East Midnapore that was won by the Left parties,TMC has now almost taken over the Krishnagar municipality in Nadia. Asim Saha,chairman of Krishnanagar municipality has today joined the TMC. Besides Saha,14 other Congress councillors have joined the TMC today.”

Crediting the development to the party success under Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s leadership,Roy said,“We are successful in running the state and in implementing development projects and schemes. It has led the leaders from other parties joining TMC. They will contest the elections with our tickets and they will get the mandate of the people.”

Five civic bodies — Midnapore,Jhargram,Krishnagar,Baharampore municipalities and Howrah Municipal Corporation — are going to the polls on November 22,he said.

Also,by-elections to 22 wards under various civic bodies,including two wards of the Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC),are also going to take place on the day. The TMC Tuesday nominated its candidates for the KMC by-election in ward numbers 1 and 24. “Our candidates Sita Jaiswal will contest for ward number one and Mrinal Saha for ward 24 in the forthcoming KMC by-election,” TMC leader and state Industry

Minister Partha Chatterjee said. — With PTI

For all the latest Kolkata News, download Indian Express App