For once,CPM,Trinamool join chorus to slam EC for poll dates

The CPM and the Trinamool Congress have criticised the Election Commission on the three-phased Lok Sabha elections.

Written by Press Trust Of India | Kolkata | Published: March 3, 2009 2:24:53 am

The CPM and the Trinamool Congress have criticised the Election Commission on the three-phased Lok Sabha elections. The ruling CPM stated that the party wanted elections to be conducted on a single day whereas Mamata Banerjee’s said the party will appeal to the EC for rescheduling the elections.

On Monday,the EC announced that the first phase of the LS election will be held on April 30,the second on May 7 and the third on May 13.

“The dates for the election in Bengal are inappropriate and we protest against it. From the first phase,that is April 30 onwards,many weddings are scheduled in the state,” said Mukul Roy,Rajya Sabha member of the Trinamool.

“ Most of the Hindi-speaking voters of Bengal will visit their native states like Bihar and Uttar Pradesh. How will they vote in the elections? We will ask the EC to reschedule the dates,” the Trinamool leader added.

Senior CPM leaders also echoed the views of Trinamool.

CITU state president Shyamal Chakraborty said: “We had earlier requested the EC to hold the elections on a single day in Bengal. The season is also inappropriate for conducting elections. The polls should be held in winters,when people can vote comfortably.”

The Trinamool leaders also pointed out that it will be very hot during the polls.

“During the first phase in April,constituencies in north Bengal will go to the polls. The EC should have slotted south Bengal in the first phase and north in the second or third phase in May because the northern areas are relatively cool then,” added Roy.

Trinamool leaders also claimed that the voters’ list in Bengal is full of discrepancies.

“There are so many errors in the voters’ list. Names of thousands of genuine voters are struck off from the list. Many people are not issued voter-identity cards,” added Roy.

The party also demanded deployment of paramilitary personnel for manning all booths in Bengal.

According to the EC schedule in the first phase on April 30 constituencies like Darjeeling,Cooch Behar,Raigunj,Jalpaiguri,Balurghat,Bankura and two seats in Malda,Midnapore,Bishnupur,Ghatal Jhargram and Purulia will go to the polls.

On May 7,Behrampur,Jangipur,Ranaghat,Murhsidabad,Howrah Krishnagara,Uluberia,Arambagh,Tamluk,Contai,Hooghly,Burdwan-Durgapur,Burdwan East,Bolpur,Birbhum,Asansol will have polling.

In the last phase on May 13,Dum Dum,Barrackpur,Bongaon,Bashirhat,Barasat,Joynagar,Mathurapur,Jadavpur,Diamond Harbour,Kolkata North and Kolkata South will go for the polls.

For all the latest Kolkata News, download Indian Express App