Follow Us:
Tuesday, October 26, 2021

Bibaswan enters doubles final,seeds fall in girls’ singles

Bibaswan Deb became the first player from Bengal in four years to reach the boys’ doubles finals of the ONGC ITF Junior Tennis 2009 being played at the DKS Sports Complex here.

Written by Express News Service | Kolkata |
January 23, 2009 2:49:52 am

Bibaswan Deb became the first player from Bengal in four years to reach the boys’ doubles finals of the ONGC ITF Junior Tennis 2009 being played at the DKS Sports Complex here. Rupesh Roy had won the boys’ doubles in 2005.The unseeded Bibaswan,partnering Ryoto Tachi of Japan toppled the top seeded siblings Chandril and Lakshit Sood 1-6,6-3 (10-7) in 130 minutes. In the first set,both Bibaswan and Tach lost their serves in the first and third game and lost the set at 1-6. Bibaswan and Tachi pulled up their socks in the second and broke the Soods in the first,fifth and ninth games. Bibaswan,however,lost his serve again the fourth game.

In the girls’ singles,top seed Valentina Satrkova of Kazakhstan was ousted by last year’s winner,fifth seed Shweta Kumari Solanki 6-4,6-4. Shweta completed the job in 110 minutes. Starkova started with aplomb breaking Solanki in the fourth game to take a lead of 4-1. Solanki then upped the ante and broke Starkova in the seventh and ninth game to take the first set 6-4. In the second set,Solanki was broken in the second,sixth and eighth game,but Starkova could not save a single of her service games. Solanki won the set again at 6-4.

The second seed from Turkeminstan Anastasiya Prenko lost her quarter-final match to Russian eighth seed Anna Rapoport 1-6,0-6 in 50 minutes. The match was dominated by Anna. In the third game of the first set,Prenko came back from 0-40 to take the game to deuce and then served five aces but still lost the game. It was clearly not her day.

In the boys’ singles quarter-finals,Jayaprakash Mohit Mayur toppled top seed Chadril Sood in straight sets in 100 minutes. Sood blew a 5-2 lead to lose the first set in tie-breaker 6-8. Jayaprakash broke Sood in the ninth and 11th game,while losing his serve in the fourth and 12th game. In the second set,Sood was broken again in the fourth and sixth game.

The other seeds to fall were third seed Laurent-Oliver Daxhelet of Belgium and fifth seed Saurabh Singh. Unseeded Venkat Iyer,a wild card,justified the organisers’ faith in him by disposing off the fifth seed Saurabh Singh 6-4,6-2. Venkat got broken in the first and third game of the first set and broke back in the fourth,eighth and 10th game to take the set 6-4. In the second set,Saurabh broke Venkat in the first and third game. Venkat returned the compliment in the second,fourth and sixth game to take the match 6-4,6-2.

Eighth seed Sai Kartik Nakireddy ousted the third seed Belgian Laurent-Oliver Daxhelet 6-4,7-6 (7-4) in 96 minutes. The first set went mostly with serves with Nakireddy losing his service in the second game and breaking Daxhelet in the third and ninth game. In the second set,there were two service breaks each. The set was settled in tie break which was eventually won by Nakireddy at 10-7.

Today’s results (Indians if not specified): Boys’ singles quarter-finals: Jayaprakash Mohit Mayur (309) beat Chandril Sood (1) (124) 7-6 (8-6),6-1; Sai Kartik Nakireddy (8) (235) beat Laurent-Oliver Daxhelet (3) (Bel) 6-4,7-6 (7-4); Venkat Iyer (WC) (652) beat Saurabh Singh (5) (194) 6-4,6-2; Vaidik Munshaw (2) (155) beat Adirek Khundarnpinitnon (7) (Tha) (232) 6-0,0-6,6-3.

Girls’ singles quarter-finals: Shweta Kumari Solanki (5) (248) beat Valentina Starkova (1) (Kaz) (127) 6-4,6-4; Prerna Bhambri (314) beat Treta Bhattacharyya (595) 6-1,2-6,6-1; Sharmada Balu (294) beat Carol Augustine Benito (Esp) (461) 6-1,6-1; Anna Rapoport (8) (Rus) (267) beat Anastasiya Prenko (2) (Tkm)(198) 6-1,6-0.

Boys’ doubles quarter-finals: Sidharth Sivakumar & Mansingh Athare beat Pulat Babadjanov (Uzb) & Laurent-Oliver Daxhelet (Uzb) 7-5,6-1; Appanervanda Muddappa & Saurabh Singh (2) beat Roman Piftor (Usb) & Shiva Sangwan 7-6 (7-2),6-3.

Boys’ doubles semi-finals: Ryoto Tachi (Jpn) & Bibaswan Deb (WC) beat Lakshit Sood & Chandril Sood (1) 1-6,6-3 (10-7); Sidharth Sivakumar & Mansingh Athare beat Appanervanda Muddappa & Saurabh Singh (2) 5-7,6-3 (16-14).

Girls’ doubles semi-finals: Rishika Sunkara & Aishwarya Agrawal (1) beat Sonia Dayal & Aishwarya Shrivastava (3) 7-6 (7-5),6-4; Anna Rapoport (Rus) & Natela Dzalamidze (Rus) (2) beat Prerna Bhambri & Gopika Kapoor 6-4,6-3.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Kolkata News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard