Four former West Bengal ministers who lost to be back in ‘their depts’ as junior ministers

Manish Gupta, Chandrima Bhattacharya, Sankar Chakraborty and Upendranath Biswas to ‘assist’ government.

By: Express News Service | Kolkata | Updated: May 31, 2016 7:40:18 am

Four West Bengal cabinet ministers, who lost in the recently concluded Assembly election, will return to their former departments keeping their rank of a minister and assist the state government with their experience and expertise, said officials on Monday.

Former power minister Manish Gupta will be appointed as an Advisor to the Chief Minister on power and non-conventional energy sources in the rank of a cabinet minister, officials said. Gupta will also be the chairperson and CMD of state power utilities in order to ensure “co-ordination and synergy in the power department”.

Share This Article
Related Article

Chandrima Bhattacharya, former minister of state for health, law and judicial affairs, will be appointed as chairperson of West Bengal Medical Services Corporation in the rank of a minister of state.

Former PWD minister Sankar Chakraborty would become chairman of three state PSUs — Mackintosh Burn, Westinghouse Saxby Farmer Ltd and Britannia Engineering — in the rank and pay equivalent to that of a cabinet minister, officials said.

Upendranath Biswas, former backward class welfare minister, would get a new position as chairman of two corporations under the department, they added.

For all the latest Kolkata News, download Indian Express App