Follow Us:
Sunday, September 19, 2021

The BJP trio who survived AAP onslaught in Delhi elections

Vijender Gupta, Jagdish Pradhan and Om Prakash Sharma are the three leaders who survived AAP's electoral onslaught.

By: Press Trust of India | New Delhi |
Updated: February 10, 2015 10:32:03 pm

Former BJP state President Vijender Gupta, Jagdish Pradhan and Om Prakash Sharma are the three leaders who survived AAP’s electoral onslaught today that nearly obliterated the saffron party in a humiliating defeat.

Gupta won by a comfortable margin of 5367 votes from the Rohini constituency by bagging a total of 59,866 votes in comparison to the 54,499 votes of AAP’s C L Gupta. AAP candidate Rajesh Garg had won the seat in the last elections.

The senior BJP leader had contested from the prestigious New Delhi seat in 2013, coming a distant third behind AAP’s Arvind Kejriwal and Congress’ Sheila Dikshit.

The Mustafabad constituency was among the few seats that saw a three-cornered contest in this election, with BJP’s Jagdish Pradhan upending Congress’ Hasan Ahmed by 6031 votes.

While Pradhan garnered 58,388 votes, Ahmed could manage 52,357 votes. AAP’s Mohammed Yunus received 49,791 votes. In 2013, Congress had won the seat by a margin of 1896 votes.

Vishwas Nagar saw BJP’s Om Prakash Sharma holding on to his seat by defeating AAP’s Atul Gupta by a margin of 7799 votes. During the 2013 elections, he had defeated Congress’ Naseeb Singh who finished third this time.

Sharma received 58,124 votes while Gupta garnered 47,966 votes.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.