Follow Us:
Wednesday, August 04, 2021

Rs 3 crore award for Delhi athletes who bag gold medal at Tokyo Olympics

The coaches of the medal-winning athletes will be given Rs 10 lakh, it announced.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi |
Updated: July 10, 2021 10:24:27 am
Manish Sisodia accuses L-G Anil Baijal of bypassing elected govt, ‘murder of democracy’Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia Saturday accused L-G Anil Baijal of encroaching upon the domain of the elected government. (File photo)

The Delhi government announced Friday that it will award Rs 3 crore to athletes from the city winning gold at the upcoming Tokyo Olympics, Rs 2 crore to silver medalists, while bronze medallists will be given Rs 1 crore.

The coaches of the medal-winning athletes will be given Rs 10 lakh, it announced. Four athletes from Delhi – Manika Batra (Table Tennis), Deepak Kumar (Air Rifle shooting), Amoj Jacob (4×400m relay) and Sarthak Bhambri ( 4×400m relay) – are participating in the Olympics.

The decision was announced following a meeting between Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia and Delhi Sports University Vice-Chancellor Karnam Malleshwari. She said, “Delhi Sports University congratulates each and every athlete participating in the Tokyo Olympics. With the preparation to build Delhi Sports University, I promise each and every student in the nation who has dreams of becoming a strong sportsperson that Delhi Sports University will provide world-class facilities and sports equipment to build athletic acumen.”

A Delhi Sports School is also being established under the Delhi Sports University. Admissions for Delhi Sports School will begin from the next session, the government said in a statement.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.