Follow Us:
Wednesday, June 29, 2022

President Pranab Mukherjee appoints Kejriwal as Delhi CM

Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) scored a historic victory sweeping 67 of the 70 seats.

By: Press Trust of India | New Delhi |
February 13, 2015 10:01:49 pm
Pranab Mukherjee, Arvind Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia, Rashtrapati Bhavan President Pranab Mukherjee shakes hands with Delhi Chief Minister- designate Arvind Kejriwal as Manish Sisodia looks on at a meeting at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on Wednesday. (Source: PTI)

President Pranab Mukherjee on Friday night appointed Arvind Kejriwal as Chief Minister of Delhi along with six cabinet ministers.

A Home Ministry statement said the President appointed Kejriwal as the Chief Minister of Delhi with effect from the date he is sworn in.

“The President, on the advise of the Chief Minister, has also appointed Manish Sisodia, Asim Ahmed Khan, Sandeep Kumar, Satyendar Jain, Gopal Rai and Jitender Singh Tomar as ministers of Delhi,” the statement said.


Best of Express Premium
Abroad, Jacinda Ardern is a star. At home, she is losing her shinePremium
Udaipur tailor killed: Victim sought police cover, pointed to threats aft...Premium
Explained: Speaker’s powers in a rebellionPremium
G7 is trying hard not to be yesterday’s clubPremium

Earlier, the President revoked the order issued on February 16, 2014 under article 239AB of the Constitution imposing central rule in Delhi to pave the way for installation of an elected government.

In the recently held Delhi assembly elections, Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) scored a historic victory sweeping 67 of the 70 seats.

Kejriwal is set to take oath as chief minister along with his cabinet colleagues on Saturday at Ramlila Maidan, the the protest venue of the anti-graft campaigners over three years ago.

This will be his second term as Delhi chief minister after he resigned last February following a 49-day stint in government in the national capital with the support of Congress.

Express Subscription Do not hit the wall, subscribe for the best coverage out of India starting at just $5 per month

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard