Follow Us:
Monday, July 16, 2018

President Pranab Mukherjee’s daughter Sharmishta Mukherjee to contest for Delhi assembly polls

This leaves six more names to be announced for the 70-member Assembly.

Written by Naveed Iqbal | New Delhi | Updated: January 16, 2015 9:20:33 am

The Congress on Thursday released a third list of 15 candidates for the February 7 elections, including President Pranab Mukherjee’s daughter Sharmishta Mukherjee. She will contest from Greater Kailash. This leaves six more names to be announced for the 70-member Assembly. Twenty-eight of the 64 candidates named so far are fresh faces, including those whose seats have been shuffled.

Speaking to Newsline, Mukherjee said she is honoured to represent the party as well as a family of Congress workers. “My father told me that hardwork and connecting with people are the only important things in politics. I will go forth with this in mind,” said Mukherjee, whose candidature has been subject of much speculation amid rivalry within the Congress in Greater Kailash. She officially joined the party in July last year.

Congress is yet to announce its candidate from the New Delhi constituency, even though former minister in the Sheila Dikshit government, Kiran Walia, has already begun campaigning in the constituency.

Among the new faces on the list is Praveen Kumar Bhugra, who has been nominated from Narela constituency, where he replaces Jaswant Singh. He contested the seat twice on a Congress ticket. In Adarsh Nagar, councillor and leader of the opposition in the North Municipal Corporation, Mukesh Goel, replaces Mangat Ram, who lost the 2013 election by over 11,000 votes.

Former MLAs Veer Singh Dhingan and Vipin Sharma will stand from Seemapuri and Rohtas Nagar. Another former MLA Malaram Gangwal will contest from Madipur. He came third last election, losing to AAP’s Girish Soni.

C P Mittal will contest the Hari Nagar seat while Madan Mohan has been nominated from Palam. Brahm Yadav will contest from Rajinder Nagar.

Jagdish Yadav will be fielded from Rithala and former MLA Rajesh Lilothia will contest the Patel Nagar seat. Anil Kumar has been nominated from Patparganj and Bansi Lal from Krishna Nagar, while Rinku has been fielded from Gokalpur.

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App