Follow Us:
Thursday, July 19, 2018

Post of Mayor in all three civic corporations reserved for SC

he last date for filing nominations for both positions is April 21.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi | Updated: April 17, 2014 11:38:21 pm

As the tenure of Mayors of the three municipal corporations of Delhi comes to an end this month, the next meeting of the House will elect the new officebearers in all three corporations.

This year, the post of ‘Mayor’ in all the three corporations is reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates.

While the meeting of East and South municipal corporations is scheduled on April 29 to elect the Mayors and Deputy Mayors respectively; the North Corporation will elect its Mayor on April 28.

According to provisions of the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, 1957, it is mandatory for the House to elect new officebearers — Mayors and Deputy Mayors — in the first meeting of the House in April every year.

The last date for filing nominations for both positions is April 21. Candidates can withdraw their nominations any time before the elections.

This year, due to the short tenure of the Delhi government, no MLAs were elected to the corporations. So, 102 councillors of North corporation, 62 of East corporation and 101 of South corporation will elect the officebearers.

“Despite fresh parliamentary elections, sitting MPs from Delhi will also vote in the House meeting as Parliament has not been dissolved yet,” East corporation spokesperson Yogendra Mann said.

The outgoing Mayors for the three corporations are Mira Agarwal (North), Savita Chaudhary (South) and Ram Narayan Dubey (East).

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App