Follow Us:
Monday, July 16, 2018

Over 200 FIRs lodged for poll code violation

There are five cases against independents and others.

Written by Geeta Gupta | New Delhi | Published: October 13, 2013 1:20:28 am

Barely a week after the dates for Delhi Assembly elections were announced and the model code of conduct came into force,as many as 212 FIRs have been registered.

The Aam Aadmi Party has been booked the most (53),followed by the BJP (45),the Congress (43) and the BSP (13).

Following the Election Commission’s order,the Delhi government’s website no longer sports pictures of either the chief minister or any of the other ministers.

The Delhi Election Office has asked the chief secretary to ensure that all ministers surrender their official vehicles except for the one issued by the General Administration Department.

“The ministers can use only one vehicle,and that too for travelling from their residence to office,” chief electoral officer Vijay Dev said.

An order issued to chief secretary,police commissioner and all heads of department in the Delhi government on October 4 by Deputy CEO A K Srivastava said,“Ministers and other authorities shall not announce any financial grants in any form or make promises thereof; (except civil servants) lay foundation stones etc.,of projects or schemes of any kind; make any promise of construction of roads,provision of drinking water facilities,etc.; make any ad-hoc appointments in government,public undertakings etc.,which may have the effect of influencing the voters in favour of the party in power”.

Apart from registering cases of violations,the Delhi EC has pulled down 3,357 posters,and hoardings and banners have been removed from public property and 1,445 from private spaces. Everything is under watch,from the fine print on slogans on AAP caps and politicians visiting yoga camps,Ramlilas and Durga Pujas,to the content of the speeches delivered. Violations on the campaign trail can even land candidates in jail.

There are three cases against Akali Dal,two against Peace Party and one each against Samajwadi Party,INLD and the Indian Justice Party. There are five cases against independents and others.

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App