Tuesday, Dec 06, 2022

Former DU students union president Nupur Sharma to take on Arvind Kejriwal

Nupur Sharma's name was being considered by the party against Kejriwal even in 2013 elections.

Nupur Sharma, Arvind Kejriwal, Delhi Polls, AAP, BJP Nupur Sharma’s name was being considered by the party against Arvind Kejriwal even in 2013 elections.

The BJP on Monday fielded a young party member Nupur Sharma to take on Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Arvind Kejriwal in New Delhi seat in Delhi Assembly polls. The party’s first list of 62 candidates included new entrants Kiran Bedi, Krishna Tirath and Vinod Kumar Binny.

Nupur Sharma is a former Delhi University Students Union president. She was associated with Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad, the student wing of the BJP. Her name was being considered by the party against Kejriwal even in 2013 elections.

The list includes former union minister and Congress leader Tirath from Patel Nagar. Tirath got the BJP ticket on the day she declared her association with the party, creating a record of sorts.

Bharatiya Janata Party’s chief ministerial candidate Kiran Bedi, a former IPS officer, has been fielded from Krishna Nagar, a “traditional” seat of the party. Bedi joined the BJP Jan 15.

Subscriber Only Stories
How a private firm came to be at the centre of Bengaluru data theft casePremium
Amid show of unity, signs of discord dot Rahul yatra route in RajasthanPremium
India’s G20 Presidency: Championing the Global SouthPremium
Delhi Confidential: When PM Modi asked Andhra CM Jagan about the detentio...Premium

Binny, a former AAP MLA, will contest from Patparganj. He joined the BJP Sunday.

Briefing reporters after the meeting of party’s central election committee and parliamentary board, BJP leader and union minister J.P. Nadda said that party’s Delhi unit chief Satish Upadhyay will not contest the polls.

“He has a huge responsibility. He will not be fighting the election,” Nadda said.


Those fielded by the BJP also included Vijendra Gupta from Rohini, Jagdish Mukhi from Janakpuri, Karan Singh Tanwar from Delhi Cantonment and M.S. Dhir from Jangpura.

Dhir is a former speaker of Delhi assembly and had won the 2013 election as an AAP nominee.

Elections to 70-member Delhi assembly will be held February 7.

The Congress has fielded former Delhi minister Kiran Walia from New Delhi.

First published on: 20-01-2015 at 01:15:12 pm
Next Story

It is very important for the Dutch-Hindustani people to recognize their roots: Author Safdar Zaidi

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments