Meet the six women MLAs of Delhi

Meet the six women MLAs of Delhi

2013 elections saw only three women MLAs getting elected in Delhi.

women MLAs, aam aadmi party, delhi results, delhi elections
Women AAP supporters celebrate Arvind Kejariwal’s victory in Delhi Assembly elections, in Allahabad on Tuesday (PTI photo)

In a major improvement from 2013, six women MLAs, all belonging to the Aam Aadmi Party, have been elected to the 70-member Delhi Assembly this time, results showed on Tuesday. The 2013 state elections had only seen three women getting elected, ironically all from AAP as well.

More than 60 women candidates were in the fray this time. The elections saw the AAP getting an overwhelming mandate, securing more than 50% vote-share and grabbing 67 seats. While the BJP was pushed to its worst ever tally of 3 seats, the Congress ended up without a single seat.

Here are the six women who were victorious this time.


1. Rakhi Birla, Mangolpuri – Birla, 27, who was a minister during AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal’s short stint in power in 2014, was victorious once again from the Mangolpuri seat in north-west Delhi. She defeated Congress heavy-weight leader Raj Kumar Chauhan by 22,699 votes. She has been known to extensively work with the Valmiki community in an area, which faces severe power and water woes. Mangolpuri has 14 lakh voters.



2. Bandana Kumari, Shalimar Bagh – Kumari, a prominent leader of the AAP’s women’s wing, returns to the state assembly from Shalimar Bagh, considered to be a traditional BJP stronghold. She defeated BJP’s Rekha Gupta by 10,978 votes. The constituency has a diverse population in terms of occupation, income and religion. Kumari was earlier involved with the Jan Lokpal movement spearheaded by Anna Hazare.


3. Alka Lamba, Chandni Chowk – Lamba, 39, who was a member of the Congress for 20 years, crossed over to the AAP camp in 2013. The transition proved to be lucky for her as she defeated both her BJP and Congress rivals to emerge victorious in the Chandni Chowk assembly constituency in old Delhi. Her nearest rival was Suman Kumar Gupta of the BJP who got 18,469 votes. Lamba, who was a DPCC general secretary. won by more than 18000 votes. The constituency has one of the oldest and busiest markets in Delhi.


4. Parmila Tokas, RK Puram – Tokas, 37, enters the Delhi assembly for the first time after winning from the south Delhi constituency of RK Puram. This constituency is composed of a large number of central government employees. She defeated the BJP’s Anil Kumar Sharma by 19,068 votes. She was elected as an independent councillor 2 years ago and prior to that, she was involved in social work initiatives.


5. Bhavna Gaur, Palam – This 44-year-old social activist was a part of the Jan Lokpal movement. She was elected this time from Palam, a residential colony in south-west Delhi. She defeated Dhram Dev Solanki of the BJP by more than 30,000 votes.

6. Sarita Singh, Rohtas Nagar – Singh, defeated BJP’s Jitender Mahajan by 7,874 votes in a constituency which is part of the Northeast Delhi parliamentary constituency. Vipin Sharma of the Congress ended up in third position with close to 15,000 votes.