L-G sets the ball rolling,reshuffles Delhi’s senior bureaucratshttps://indianexpress.com/article/cities/delhi/lg-sets-the-ball-rolling-reshuffles-delhis-senior-bureaucrats/

L-G sets the ball rolling,reshuffles Delhi’s senior bureaucrats

This post had been lying vacant after Shakti Sinha resigned earlier this year.

Even as Sheila Dikshit and her council of ministers continue to be the “caretaker” government of Delhi in case of an exigency,Lieutenant-Governor Najeeb Jung has already set the ball rolling by effecting transfers of senior bureaucrats.

In a slew of transfer orders that were released on Tuesday,principal secretary to the chief minister M M Kutty has been transferred as principal secretary of finance.

This post had been lying vacant after Shakti Sinha resigned earlier this year.

Kutty also held additional charge of departments such as information and publicity,tourism and administrative reforms.


The additional charges have been handed over to S S Yadav,a 1995-batch IAS officer,who is also the secretary-cum-commissioner of food and supplies department.

Another official who has been moved from the CM’s office is Nila Mohanan,who was additional secretary to Dikshit. Mohanan was also holding additional charge of Dikshit’s flagship programme,mission convergence,as well as art,culture and languages.

Mohanan will now take over as deputy commissioner of South and Southeast district. She will replace J B Singh,who has now been transferred as special secretary to the Public Works Department.

Urban development secretary R K Srivastava,who held charge of the department throughout the ‘regularisation’ drive of 895 unauthorised colonies,has been transferred to Goa and will be replaced by Arun Goyal,who was on deputation to the Ministry of External Affairs.

Mirnalini Darswal,who was serving as special commissioner,trade and taxes,has now been appointed as additional director of the education department.

Daraswal replaces Madhu Rani Teotia,who will now take over as director of mission convergence. A 98-batch officer,Gyanesh Bharti,will take over as managing director of Delhi Tourism & Transportation Development Corporation.

Govind Jaiswal,a 2007-batch IAS officer,will take charge as additional commissioner (trade and taxes).


Rupesh Kumar Thakur, a 2006-batch IAS officer, will take over as deputy commissioner of the South Delhi Municipal Corporation.