Monday, Nov 28, 2022

ABVP scripts JNU comeback after 14 years, AISA wins just two

Left-backed All India Students Association (AISA) which swept the polls for last two years, lost the top post by a margin of 67 votes, but won the Vice President and General Secretary seats.

JNU, jnu polls, jnu electons, jnu election results, AISF, News, Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parisahad, ABVP, AISF, India, Student Body, Politics, India, JNUSU ABVP’s Saurabh Sharma has been named the new joint secretary. (Express Photo by Amit Mehra)

The BJP-led Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), which swept the Delhi University Students’ Union (DUSU) polls on Saturday, made a comeback in the Jawaharlal Nehru University Students’ Union (JNUSU) panel after 14 years. The poll results were declared on Sunday.

The union grabbed the joint-secretary position, defeating the left-backed All India Students ‘Association (AISA) candidate by a small margin of 28 votes.

AISA, which swept the polls for last two years, lost the top post by a margin of 67 votes but won the posts of vice-president and general secretary. The president’s post was bagged by the All India Students Federation (AISF).

ABVP’s Saurabh Sharma has been named the new joint secretary. The last time an ABVP candidate won a panel post was in December 2000, when Sandeep Mahapatra was elected president.

Subscriber Only Stories
ExplainSpeaking | A profile of Gujarat’s economy before electionsPremium
Small is good: Mudra loan NPAs at just 3.3% in 7 yearsPremium
Amid uncertainty, falling risk appetite, India fared better than major ec...Premium
‘It’s a new virus, it’s still evolving, still adapting. We still ne...Premium


Surprisingly, in the left-dominated campus, ABVP has stood second in two of the four central panel seats – vice-president and general secretary.

“The ABVP has won 11 seats of councillors in various schools. We also won a councillor seat in the School of International Studies (SIS) after 11 years. This is the result of the hard work of thousands of karyakartas. Despite facing a lot of hardship on campus, they worked relentlessly for the nationalist cause. The students of JNU are looking for an alternative to the degenerate and regressive communist ideology. Nationalism and constructive activism is the only alternative,” said ABVP Delhi state secretary Saket Bahuguna.

AISF’s Kanhaiya Kumar, who won the president’s post, secured a total of 1,029 votes. He defeated AISA’s Vijay Kumar, who lost the top post by a margin of 67 votes,” the chief election commissioner for the polls, Praveen Thallapelli, said.


Shehla Rashid Shora and Rama Naga, who were AISA’s nominees for the post of vice-president and general secretary, polled 1,387 and 1,159 votes respectively. They defeated ABVP candidates Valentina Brahma and Devendra Singh Rajput.

“Students were disappointed with AISA as the promises made by it in the recent years have not been fulfilled. The major issue of hostels, which they had raised many times, remained unresolved despite them being in power twice,” Kanhaiya Kumar said.

The CEC recorded a 53.3 per cent voter turnout, a marginal dip from last year’s 54.58 per cent.

First published on: 14-09-2015 at 02:18:39 am
Next Story

After multiple obstacles, National Award winning film set for October 22 release

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments