Monthly plan to access Budget

Journalism of Courage

MCD Election Results Highlights: Nadda accuses Delhi govt of denying money to BJP-led MCD for healthcare, education

MCD Election Results Highlights : With 250 wards in the MCD, the AAP won 134 while the BJP won 104, the Congress 9 and others 3.

JP Nadda news, indian expressBJP national president JP Nadda. (File)
Listen to this article Your browser does not support the audio element.

Delhi MCD Election Results Highlights: In his speech after Assembly poll results on Thursday, BJP national president JP Nadda accused the AAP-led Delhi government of denying money to the MCD for healthcare and education when BJP was in power. “Despite this, our workers put up an outstanding performance,” he said.

Of the 250 newly elected councillors in the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD), at least 17 per cent have declared criminal cases against them while another 8 per cent face “serious” cases, according to an Association for Democratic Reforms report. At least 67 per cent are crorepatis, 51 per cent have declared educational qualifications between Class 5 and Class 12, and 66 per cent are in the 41-70 age group, the report added. The Association for Democratic Reforms and Delhi Election Watch analysed the self-sworn affidavits of 248 winning candidates in the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) elections. Of 248 the winning candidates analysed, 132 (53 per cent) are women, and one — the AAP’s Sultanpuri-A ward councillor Bobi — from the transgender community. In 2017, of the 266 councillors for whom data was available, 139 (52 per cent) were women.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Wednesday dislodged the BJP from power in the Municipal Corporation of Delhi, giving it control over key civic sectors in the city, such as waste management, primary education and collection of property tax. Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal thanked the people for AAP’s victory and sought the cooperation of the BJP and the Congress, as well as the “blessings” of the Centre and Prime Minister Narendra Modi, to improve civic amenities. With 250 wards in the MCD, the AAP won 134 while the BJP won 104, the Congress 9 and others 3. Of the 134 seats AAP won, 77 were wrested from the BJP. Follow Live Updates on Gujarat Results, Himachal Results, Bypoll Results and Analysis of the Election Results.

Subscriber Only Stories
First published on: 07-12-2022 at 07:08 IST
Next Story

As Belagavi simmers, a familiar name is raising the heat: Karnataka Rakshana Vedike

Next Story