Follow Us:
Thursday, January 27, 2022

Delhi gets two more revenue districts: Southeast,Shahdara

Delhi now has 11 revenue districts,after a notification to this effect was issued on Tuesday.

Written by Geeta Gupta | New Delhi |
September 12, 2012 2:04:08 am

Delhi now has 11 revenue districts,after a notification to this effect was issued on Tuesday. Two new districts — Southeast and Shahdara — were carved out and notified from the nine districts. All 11 district commissioners will now become district magistrates. Currently,the city has only one district magistrate.

Delhi Cabinet had given in-principle approval to the formation of two new districts earlier this year,with Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit saying the decision would make revenue and district administration more efficient. The set-up of nine districts and 27 sub-divisions,had come into effect in 1997.

The notification explains that the Chanakyapuri district has now been created by merging the sub-divisions of Parliament Street,Connaught Place and Chanakyapuri. The Delhi Cantonment and Vasant Vihar sub-divisions,on the other hand,have been taken out from the Southwest district.

The new district sub-divisions are: Model Town,Narela and Alipur. Model Town has been created from the Northwest district. Narela sub-division,Northwest district,was divided into Narela and Alipur sub-divisions.

The Northwest district has been notified to have Rohini,Kanjhawala and Saraswati Vihar as its new sub-divisions,which were created from Saraswati Vihar sub-division,Northwest district. No changes were made to West district,which has Punjabi Bagh,Patel Nagar,and Rajouri Garden as the sub-divisions.

Southwest district will now have Dwarka,Najafgarh and Kapashera as new sub-divisions,which were created from Najafgarh sub-division.

South district will have Saket,Hauz Khas and Mehrauli as new sub-divisions,which were created from Hauz Khas sub-division of South District.

Southeast district will have Defence Colony,Kalkaji and Sarita Vihar as sub-divisions.

The Central district has been notified to have Civil Lines,Kotwali and Karol Bagh as its sub-divisions. The new Northeast district will have Seelampur,Yamuna Vihar and Karawal Nagar as sub-divisions. The Shahdara District will now have Shahdara,Seemapuri and Vivek Vihar as sub-divisions.

The East district will have Gandhi Nagar,Preet Vihar and Mayur Vihar as new sub-divisions.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard