Dagar to captain Indian rugby team for Pak tourney

The squad is coached by New Zealander Pale Tauti and Kamaldeep Dagar.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi | Updated: June 18, 2014 12:00:59 am

The Indian rugby team has qualified to participate in the Asian Rugby Football Union’s Asian 5 Nations (A5N) Division-III Tournament (West) to be held in Lahore between June 18-22.

The final leg of the A5N Div-3 (W) will feature teams from Uzbekistan, Lebanon, India and hosts Pakistan.

The National training camp for preparation and selection of the Indian team was held at the Delhi Public School (R. K. Puram) and at the DDA Ground in Vasant Kunj, Delhi from 1st to 16th June, 2014. The team is now scheduled to depart for Pakistan on 18th June 2014.

The squad is coached by New Zealander Pale Tauti (who currently plays for the Hong Kong National team and coaches the HK Under-20 team) while Kamaldeep Dagar from the Delhi Police has been named captain.

The final team that will travel to Pakistan reflects a good blend of youth and experience and comprises of players from the Indian Army, Police Force and major Rugby playing centres like Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Bhubaneswar & Bangalore.

The Indian National Team:

Forwards: Suresh Sajwan, Parvinder Singh, Mukesh Mankotia, Naresh Kumar, Prashant, Monu Yadav, Sukhdeep Singh, Neeraj Khatri, Surinder Singh, Nitin Dagar, Amit Lochab, Kamaldeep Dagar, Jagga Singh, Shokdender, Balakrishna Vaka.
Backs: Sujai Lama, Gautam Dagar, Rohit Sivach, Bikash Jena, Vikas Khatri, Samser Singh, Deepak Dagar, Uthaya Sankar, Rakesh Lochab, Sumit Singh, Akash Balmiki. Management: Pale Tauti, Manas Kumar Jena, Nasser Hussain.

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App