Follow Us:
Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Cong, BJP unsure of how AAP MLAs will vote in MCD polls

Leader of Opposition in the South Farhad Suri is expected to contest against Arya.

Written by Naveed Iqbal | New Delhi | Published: April 17, 2015 1:03:45 am

Nominations for the posts of mayor and deputy mayor in the three municipal corporations were filed on Thursday. While the BJP has the benefit of numbers in the North and East bodies (with 62 and 35 seats respectively), the five nominated MLAs are a cause for concern for the party.

These posts are unreserved and are being contested by the seniormost leaders of  the BJP and the Congress. But no party is sure which way the AAP MLAs will vote. Senior BJP councillor Subhash Arya said, “No one can say who the AAP MLAs will vote for.”

Leader of Opposition in the South Farhad Suri is expected to contest against Arya.

In the previous mayor elections, two former Congress MPs — Sandeep Dikshit and Parvez Hashmi — did not cast their ballot and the BJP won the polls. However, this time, the Congress is confident of a “close fight” in the South Municipal Corporation.

Share This Article
Related Article

For the deputy mayor’s post in the south body, Sriniwaspuri councillor Indu  (Congress) and Sadh Nagar councillor Kuldeep Solanki (BJP) are the main contestants. Polls will be held on April 24. Members to the standing committee will be elected the same day.

In the North and East corporations, the Congress is likely to bring up issues of salary delays and weakening financial status of the two civic bodies. However, the numbers are in favour of the BJP even discounting the nominated MPs and MLAs.

Candidates for the mayor’s position in the East body include Harshdeep Malhotra (BJP) and Rekha Rani (Congress). Asha Singh (BJP) and Aas Mohammad (Congress) filed their nominations for the post of deputy mayor. Elections will be held on April 27.

In the North, Ravinder Gupta (BJP) and Harsh Sharma (Congress) filed nominations for the mayor’s post. For the deputy mayor’s post, Dr Neelam Goel (BJP) and Guddi Devi (Congress) filed their nominations. Polls will be held on April 25.

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App