Follow Us:
Tuesday, December 07, 2021

BJP makes a clean sweep in Delhi; Harsh Vardhan calls it ‘victory of people’

Much to the Congress' chagrin, the party could not even manage a second place finish in a single constituency, a space which the Aam Aadmi Party dominated.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi |
May 16, 2014 6:48:56 pm

With the BJP making a clean sweep for the Lok Sabha election seats in Delhi, the rout of the Congress in the national capital is now complete. From winning all seven seats in 2009, the Congress this poll season was at the receiving end of a complete role reversal. Much to the Congress’ chagrin, the party could not even manage a second place finish in a single constituency, a space which the Aam Aadmi Party dominated.

Leading the victory march for BJP were all first-time Members of Parliament – Harshvardhan from Chandni Chowk, Meenakshi Lekhi from New Delhi, Maheish Girri from East Delhi, Manoj Tiwari from North East Delhi, Pravesh Singh Sahib from West Delhi, Ramesh Bidhuri from South Delhi and Udit Raj from North West Delhi. Three BJP candidates were also victorious in the Assembly elections – Sahib, Harshvardhan and Bidhuri.

Harsh Vardhan, who was present in the BJP headquarters calls it as the ‘victory of the people’.

“It is victory of people and the credit also goes to the efforts of Narendra Modi. We were confident of winning as him as PM candidate,” said Vardhan.

Reacting to the mandate, Harshvardhan said, “People have rejected AAP this time. AAP has been exposed. People had hopes from AAP but later they realised they have been fooled by the AAP. The fate of the Congress was sealed in last assembly elections when people rejected them. Congress has become synonymous with corruption and scams,” added Vardhan.

And the list of Congress heavyweights who managed a dismal third place finish included Congress General secretary Ajay Maken, former Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit’s son Sandeep, Union Ministers Krishna Tirath and Kapil Sibal and former Delhi Congress chief J P Agarwal. A similar fate awaited AAP leaders Ashutosh, Raj Mohan Gandhi and former Delhi minister Rakhi Birla.

But despite the clear loss, the AAP does see a silver lining, particularly with the Delhi Assembly elections in the offing. A senior leader said, “This election was about voting out the Congress and not just support for the BJP and Narendra Modi. We were placed second in all seven constituencies and will make a better comeback in the assembly elections.”

The LS election results have all three parties in a quandary over a poll strategy for the assembly election to follow. The last election had thrown up a hung assembly, with the BJP winning 32, AAP 28 and the Congress just eight seats. However, with three BJP MLAs now headed for parliament, including the party’s chief ministerial candidate – Harshvardhan – a rethink is on the cards.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard