Follow Us:
Wednesday, October 28, 2020

DUSU polls: Clean sweep for ABVP, union wins with huge margin

DUSU polls: This is the second time in a row that the ABVP has won all the four posts in the DUSU elections

Written by Aranya Shankar | New Delhi | Updated: September 13, 2015 6:21:13 am
DUSU polls, ABVP, BJP, CYSS, AAP, DUSU elections, Delhi university elections, ABVP news, DUSU news, Delhi university, NSUI, Congress, Delhi news, AAP news, ABVP candidates celebrate their victory in the Delhi University Students’ Union elections on Saturday. (Express Photo by Amit Mehra)

For the second time in a row, BJP-backed Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) on Saturday swept the Delhi University Students’ Union (DUSU) elections by winning all four seats in the central panel with a huge margin.

“Students have given a clear mandate for a nationalist organisation, which has fought for students’ rights all through the year, and which believes in constructive politics. This is also a fitting reply to organisations like CYSS (Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti), which used fake polls and a huge amount of money for their campaign,” said ABVP state secretary Saket Bahuguna.

Candidates of the Congress’ National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) got the second highest number of votes for the posts of president, secretary and joint-secretary.

Debutant CYSS — the AAP’s student wing — didn’t perform as well as it expected to. But the union managed to make a mark, with its candidate for the vice-president’s post getting the second highest number of votes.

Newly-elected DUSU president Satender Awana, who secured 20,439 votes, defeated NSUI’s Pradeep Vijayran by a margin of more than 6,000 votes. ABVP’s Sunny Dedha won the vice-president’s post with 19,671 votes, defeating CYSS’s Garima Rana by over 7,000 votes.

Speaking on the road ahead for DUSU, Awana said the organisation will now concentrate on solving students’ issues. “Our primary agenda now is to start new colleges and hostels. We will also work towards ensuring women’s security and safety on campus,” he said.

ABVP’s Anjali Rana and Chhattarpal Yadav also defeated their opponents — NSUI’s Amit Sehrawat and Deepak Choudhary — for the posts of secretary and joint-secretary by a margin of more than 4,000 and 6,000 votes respectively.

Left-leaning All India Students’ Association (AISA) had made significant gains in the last election, with its candidates in the third place in almost all seats. But the organisation saw a dip in its vote share this year, with only its candidate for joint-secretary’s post coming in the third place, with 10,045 votes.

The NSUI accepted the verdict but blamed the CYSS for eating into its vote share and “helping BJP”. “The AAP is dividing votes to help the RSS and the BJP further their agenda,” said NSUI president Roji M John.
While CYSS vice-president Anmol Panwar admitted that the students’ union, in its first electoral foray, was disappointed with the results, he pointed out that it had still managed to win nearly 35,000 votes. “There have been mistakes, which is why we lost, but we also gained a lot of support from students. Next year, we will rectify those mistakes and bounce back,” he said.

Early trends on Saturday had indicated an ABVP sweep, with the organisation leading consistently in all four seats. As soon as the results were announced on Sunday afternoon, ABVP supporters and activists began celebrating.
Senior BJP leaders Arun Jaitley and Amit Shah also took to Twitter to congratulate the winners. “Congratulations to ABVP & Students of Delhi University on winning the DUSU elections & making a clean sweep by winning all the four seats,” tweeted Jaitley. BJP president Amit Shah also tweeted, “Heartiest Congratulations to all Parishad karyakartas on clean sweep in DUSU Polls. A victory of ideology #ABVPRocks”.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App.