BJP announces new team for Assembly elections,councillors given key posts

BJP announces new team for Assembly elections,councillors given key posts

42 members nominated to new team,MLA Kulwant Rana appointed vice-president of party.

To ensure that the Bharatiya Janata Party is in a strong position to contest the upcoming Assembly elections,Delhi BJP president Vijay Goel announced his new team of 42 members,with several councillors and former councillors being given crucial posts.

The new team includes former Mayor Prithvi Raj Sahni,councillors Ashish Sood,Yogendra Chandolia,Sambit Patra and Gaurav Khari. Former Mayors,Mira Aggarwal,Savita Gupta and Annapurna Mishra have also found a place in Goel’s new team.

While Aggarwal has been appointed to the post of the vice president,Gupta and Mishra have been given posts in the disciplinary committee.

Goel’s decision to place councillors in key posts is a sign of hope for many ticket hopefuls.


“We have included experienced people who have dealt with public grievances. We have also taken into consideration the fact that the team should represent every strata and community of Delhi. Padma Shri awardee Aamir Raza Hussain is also part of the team,” Goel said.

Councillor Gaurav Khari has been appointed the Yuva Morcha president. Former Yuva Morcha president Nakul Bhardwaj has not been given a place in the team.

Only three MLAs — Kulwant Rana from Rithala,Mohan Singh Bisht from Karawal Nagar and Ramesh Bidhuri from Tughlakabad — have been included in the team.

Bisht and Rana,along with former Member of Parliament Anita Arya,have been appointed vice-presidents in the team. Abhay Verma who was head of the Purvanchal cell in former BJP chief Vijender Gupta’s team,has been inducted in Goel’s new team.

According to the party sources,Goel has tried to send a strong signal to those who are working against their own party workers,especially by taking in Kulwant Rana,who was recently arrested after a party leader lodged a complaint accusing him of making casteist remarks.

“Sending a strong message to the rebellious leaders in the party,Goel has included Rana in the team. Despite opposition,Rana has been chosen,” a BJP member said.

Party posts

Vice-presidents: MLAs

Kulwant Rana and Mohan Singh Bisht,MP Anita Arya,former Mayor Mira Aggarwal

President of Yuva Morcha:

Gaurav Khari

Members of disciplinary committee:

Former Mayors Savita Gupta and Annapurna Mishra