Among new faces in Congress list: banker,youth president,old hands

The Congress has decided to re-nominate several names who lost their seats in the 2008 elections.

Written by Ruhi Bhasin | New Delhi | Published: November 12, 2013 2:02:23 am

The 14 new names in the Congress list is a mixed bag of MLAs who lost in the 2008 elections and fresh faces which includes a Congress Youth president,a banker,chairman of a hospital and,interestingly,a former BJP party member who has been pitted against BJP’s chief minister candidate Dr Harsh Vardhan.

The Congress has decided to re-nominate several names who lost their seats in the 2008 elections based on the fact that their losing margins were very less,party sources said.

This includes Dr S C Vats,who was a member of the Delhi Metropolitan Council and was MLA from Shakur Basti seat in 2003.

Other candidates who have been re-nominated despite losing the last Assembly elections are Ashok Kumar Jain from Delhi Cantt,who is an ex-mayor,Vijay Singh Lochav from Bijwasan and Bisham Sharma from Ghonda,both of whom had won two elections before losing in the 2008 polls.

Meanwhile,the new names in the list are Dr Naresh Kumar from Mundka. “He is a bank manager from Hiran Kudna and since he belongs to the Jat community,we are hoping that he does well in the Mundka Assembly constituency,” a source in the Congress said.

Amit Malik,who will be contesting from Kirari,is a Youth Congress president while Sushil Kumar Gupta,who has been working with the party for years and is a president of the Maharaja Agarsen Charitable Trust,Punjabi Bagh,and will be contesting from Moti Nagar.

Other names making it to the list are old party hands who have been given a ticket for the first time. “There are many people who have been working for the party for 20 years. They have finally been given tickets this time,” a source said. This includes sitting councillors and party block or district presidents.

For instance,Mirza Javed Ali,who is contesting from Matia Mahal,is the district president while Suender Kumar Setia from Hari Nagar and Naresh Kumar Gupta from Shalimar Bagh have been working for the party for years.

Meanwhile,Zakir Khan from Babarpur and Balzor Singh from Gokulpur are councillors. Interestingly,no seats have been given to family members of MLAs and MP.

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App