17 candidates from five parties file nominations for Delhi elections

A total of 17 candidates filed their nominations on Monday for the Assembly polls scheduled for December 4,against a total of 21 forms received.

Written by Press Trust Of India | New Delhi | Published: November 12, 2013 2:11:22 am

A total of 17 candidates filed their nominations on Monday for the Assembly polls scheduled for December 4,against a total of 21 forms received. The office of the Delhi Chief Electoral Officer said 17 candidates belonging to five parties,including BJP and CPI,along with Independents,filed nomination papers in nine electoral districts of Delhi. A total of 23 candidates have,so far,filed nominations for the Assembly polls after the nomination process was notified on November 9.

Shri Krishan,a sitting BJP MLA,filed four applications from Burari constituency. Two other “covering” candidates for the BJP,Neel Daman Khatri and Ved Pal Mann,filed their nominations from Narela constituency. Khatri filed two nominations. BJP candidates Anil Kumar Sharma and Mahender Nagpal filed nominations from RK Puram and Wazirpur,respectively. CPI’s Kehar Singh filed his papers from Patparganj while Dayanand Singh of Rashtravadi Janata Party filed his nomination from Moti Nagar. Gurbachan Singh of Republican Party of India Ektavadi filed his nomination from Kondli constituency.

Vijay Kumar Garg,an Independent candidate,filed his nomination from Mundka constituency while another Independent,Ram Chander,filed his papers from Kirari. Independent candidates Birju Nayak,Shripal,Sunil Kumar Chadha,Vishal Sharma,Kailash,Padam Chand and Sandeep Singh filed their nominations from Tughlakabad,Matiala,Rajouri Garden,Tilak Nagar,Vikaspuri,Trilokpuri and Jangpura,respectively.

Poll panel mulls action against candidate for riding elephant<\b>

The Delhi Election Commission is contemplating action against Shiv Kumar Tiwari,an Independent candidate who filed his nomination from the New Delhi Assembly constituency on November 9. A complaint was received by the Chief Electoral Office after Tiwari went to file his nomination papers at the office of New Delhi District Election Office at Jamnagar House riding an elephant on Saturday. “We have no rules about use of animals. We will check the video-recordings of the incident and decide action on the candidate accordingly,” Delhi Chief Electoral Officer Vijay Dev said.

11 lakh voters take pledge to exercise franchise under EC initiative<\b>

Over 11 lakh voters in Northwest Delhi on Monday took a pledge to cast their votes in the Assembly polls,according to the office of the Delhi Chief Electoral Officer. “At 11.11 am today (November 11),11 lakh voters from the district took a pledge to cast their votes,” Additional District Magistrate (Northwest) S S Parihar said.

A mega event under the voter awareness programme was organised at Delhi Technological University,where thousands of students,along with their faculty members,took the pledge to vote as well as encourage their family members,friends and relatives to step out of their houses and participate in the electoral process,Parihar added. Besides students,members of market associations,RWAs,school and colleges students also took the pledge.

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App