Thursday, Dec 01, 2022

Three from graduate category elected to PU senate

Counting for other seats still in progress.

Counting for other seats still in progress

Three members were elected to the Panjab University (PU) senate early on Friday morning as the first round of results of the registered graduates constituency was declared.

Sandeep Kumar from Fazilka was the only candidate to clear the quota of 3,950 after receiving 4,996 votes. The Principal of DAV College,Abohar,Sanjeev Kumar Arora,won the election by garnering 3,236 votes,and Dayal Partap Singh Randhawa of Chandigarh received 2,422 votes. Arora and Randhawa,won as reserved candidates from Punjab and Chandigarh respectively.

After his victory,D P S Randhawa said: “I was re-elected because of my contribution to the University in the past years. I will continue to raise the issues of students as well as teachers in the senate.” He is a sitting senator and was also the PU student council president from 1998 to 2000.

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Key- December 1, 2022: Why you should read ‘Great Indian Bustard’ or...Premium
Crisis and anger: Reading China’s ‘Zero-Covid’ and anti...Premium
How to read Q2 GDP dataPremium
Arun Singhal: ‘India will keep importing fertilizers from Russia as long ...Premium

A delighted Arora,the Principal,of DAV College,Abohar,said,“I will work on the promotion of better research in the University making it a knowledge hub. Reforms should be initiated to benefit the students”.

The ballot boxes for the registered graduates constituency were opened early on Wednesday morning. There are over four lakh registered voters in this constituency but just about 74,520 votes were polled. The total number of valid votes were 63,996 and invalid votes were around 10,600,before the process was stopped. About 65 candidates were contesting for 15 seats. First round of results for the registered graduates’ constituency of the Panjab University senate were expected to be declared by Wednesday night,but counting had been suspended after a discord between the candidates and the polling staff. The elections had been held on September 23. A total of 15 rounds of counting had been done before it was closed for the day at 6 pm.

First published on: 29-09-2012 at 01:40:48 am
Next Story

Andhra nod to Telangana rally for 4 hrs

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments