Several Tricity residents to be awarded on R-Day

A number of city residents would be awarded commendation certificates on Republic Day at the function to be held at Parade Ground,Sector 17.

Written by Express News Service | Chandigarh | Published: January 25, 2012 2:03:14 am

A number of city residents would be awarded commendation certificates on Republic Day at the function to be held at Parade Ground,Sector 17. The residents have played an active role in their respective fields including sports,social service and arts and culture among other things.

Charanjeet Kaur,fencing coach at Government Model Senior Secondary School,Sector 10 is being awarded for meritorious services in education department. She started her career in 2003,becoming the first woman fencing coach in India. At the National School Games held in the city recently,31 of the total 45 students who she trained won 10 gold,10 silver and 11 bronze medals. In the National School Games this year,the Chandigarh girls team beat the Manipur team,which had won for the last ten years.

Darshan Lal Sharma,wrestling coach and general secretary of the Chandigarh Wrestling Association is also Joint Secretary of Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) and member of its Selection Committee. He is being awarded in the field of sports. Darshan Lal who is from Shahbad in Haryana,has been attached with Chandigarh Sports Department since 1987. He was a national level wrestler (68 kg category) and represented Chandigarh in various national tournaments from 1976-1982. Under his tutelage,Chandigarh wrestlers have bagged many medals at national level.

Sirjana Dhaliwal who specialises in road race category in roller skating,won the National Child Award for Exceptional Achievement for the year 2010 for her excellence in the field of ‘Special Skill in Sports’ from President Pratibha Patil at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. Known as a skating prodigy,Sirjana is coached by Chander Singhal. She will be awarded in the field of sports.

NGO Hamari Kaksha being run under the presidentship of Anuradha Sharma is being awarded in the field of social work. Having started with 17 students,there are at present 150 students who are being helped by the NGO. Children from the Economically Weaker Sections,class dropouts,repeaters,etc. are all a part of the group. The NGO teaches these children and involves them in various activities thereby bringing about a difference to their lives.

Sangita Vardhan,chairperson of the Vatsal Chata Trust is also being awarded in the field of social services. Vardhan has over the past few years taken beggars and street children under her wings and provided them education.

UT Chief Architect Sumit Kaur would be awarded for meritorious service. Having taken over her current post in October 2008,she has thrice received extension. She is on deputation from Punjab. She is involved with preparing the Master Plan for the city. Sumit Kaur is involved with issues related to heritage preservation.

A leading fireman of the Municipal Corporation Amarjit Singh is being awarded for meritorious service in the fire brigade. He was involved in the rescue operation when ammonia gas had leaked at Mauli Jagran.

37-year-old Chiranji Lal Mudgal,a Sub Inspector,made Chandigarh Police proud last year by becoming the first policeman from the city to scale the world’s highest peak – Mount Everest. A resident of village Jassia Rohtak,he is presently posted as additional Station House Officer,Sector-3 police station.

The others who would receive the commendation certificates are constable Yashwant Singh; Senior Assistant,UT Secretariat,Promila Devi; Superintendent Grade-I,UT Secretariat,Amita Bawa; Paras Nath,gardener,Chandigarh Housing Board; Amandeep Singh,Deputy Superintendent,Burail Jail; Dr Subhash Ghosh,classical music teacher.

Panchkula Awardees

The Panchkula administration will award 28 educationists,social activists,students and government officials on eve of R-Day.

The students include Vidushi Dhankad and Swapaneel of Sector 15-based Bhawan Vidyalaya,Aayna Garg of Government Senior Secondary School,Sector 7,Amit Chaudhary of Sarthak school of Sector 12 A,and Mamta of Government College of Girls,Sector 14.

The educationist to be awarded include Jaya Bharadwaj,principal of Hansraj Public School,Indu Dahiya,principal of Sarthak School of Sector 12 A and Krit Sarai,Principal of Satluj Public School,Sector 4.

Other awardees include Inspector Security Raj Kumar,Inspector Harvinder Singh and Assistant Sub Inspector Bhagwan Dass of Crime Investigation Agency (CIA) and head constable Kuldeep Singh,head of police cyber cell. Naib Tehsildar of Barwala Jugal Kishore,Santosh Sehrawat,a planning officer in ADC office,official Devraj and Assistant Krishan Kumar of DC office will be also awarded.

For all the latest Chandigarh News, download Indian Express App