Punjab Cricket Club go down fighting to MRF XI

Punjab Cricket Club (PCC) team edned up on the losing side despite setting a target of 278 for MRF XI in the ongoing JP Atray Memorial all India cricket tournament on Saturday.

Written by Express News Service | Chandigrah | Published: September 29, 2013 6:42:52 am

Punjab Cricket Club (PCC) team edned up on the losing side despite setting a target of 278 for MRF XI in the ongoing JP Atray Memorial all India cricket tournament on Saturday. The formidable MRF team proved their mettle to easily beat PCC by four wickets.

Asked to bat first,PCC was propelled by Sharad Lumba’s knock of 107 runs. After losing opener Ravi Inder cheaply,it was captain Taruwar Kohli’s turn to go. Thereafter,Manan Vohra and Sharad Lumba staged a fightback for PCC by stitching a valuable 80-run partnership for the third wicket to boost Punjab’s total. Manan,who scored a well-made 80, was sent packing by Anirudh when the scorecard read 147 for 3.

The PCC middle-order fell like ninepins as Himanshu Chawla (2),Himanshu Satyawan (2), and Gitansh Khera (5) were removed in quick succession,leaving PCC tottering on 164 for 6 in 35 overs. Then,Sharad Lumba,in company of Rahul Sharma,added 61 runs for the seventh-wicket before Rahul Sharma was removed by Sunil Sam for 29. Sharad,who hit a sparkling 99-ball 107,was last man to be bowled by Sunil Sam.

For MRF,Sunil Sam (4 for 61) and Anirudh (3 for 38) were the pick of the bowlers. In reply,led by U.Sushil’s knock of 88 runs,MRF achieved the target in 48.2 overs for the loss of six wickets. Venu Gopal Rao also played well and chipped in with useful 63 runs.

Brief Scores:

PCC: 277 all out in 50 overs (Manan Vohra 80,Sharad Lumba 107,Rahul Sharma 29,Sunil Sam 4 for 61,Anirudh 3 for 38) lost to MRF: 278 for 6 in 48.2 overs (Venu Gopal Rao 63,U.Sushil 88,S.Sri Ram 30 no,Sandeep Sharma 2 for 71,Siddarth Kaul 1 for 66,Rajwinder Golu 1 for 53)

Income Tax triumphs

In a rain truncated match played at Tau Devi Lal Cricket Stadium,Panchkula,Income Tax team beat ITC by eight wickets to surge ahead in the tournament. Batting first,ITC were bowled out for 112 runs in 26.2 overs. Sarul Kanwar emerged as the top scorer with 45 runs off 39 deliveries. For Income Tax team,Ajit Argal (3 for 16) and Kavayarayan (2 for 25) were the main wicket-takers. In reply,Income Tax achieved the target in 13.5 overs for the loss of two wickets. Aditya Waghmode was the main architect of the Income Tax chase as he scored an unbeaten 45-ball 52 . He was ably supported by Ravi Jangid,who remained unbeaten on 33 runs. The duo were involved in a 80-run stand for the third wicket.

Brief Scores:

ITC: 112 all out in 26.2 overs (Sarul Kanwar 45,Ajitesh Argal 3 for 16,Kavayarayan 2 for 25,Himanshu Joshi 2 for 5) lost to Income Tax: 116 for 2 in 13.5 overs (Aditaya Waghmode 52 not out,Ravi Jangid 33,Vikas Tokas 2 for 49)

Air India on a roll

Riding high on good perfromances by Deepak Joon (70) and Pradeep Parashar (6 for 38),Air India notched an impressive five-wicket win over FCI in a match played at the GMSSS,Sector 26 ground in Chandigarh on Saturday.

Batting first,FCI scored 176 runs in 43.5 overs. Nitin Saini and Mayank Sidana added 48 runs for the opening wicket before Mayank Sidana was dismissed by Reetinder Sodhi for 12. Nitin Saini along with Umang Sharma added 45 runs for the third-wicket. Nitin scored 66 runs off 84 balls. For Air India,Pradeep Parashar (6 for 38) emerged as the wrecker-in-chief.

Air India chased the target in 38.1 overs for the loss of five wickets. Abhimanyu Khod (51) and Deepak Joon (70) were the principal run-getters for Air India. Mohd. Kaif again failed to impress and was out without opening his account.

Brief Scores:

FCI: 176 all out in 43.5 overs (Nitin Saini 66,Umang Sharma 35,Pradeep Parashar 6 for 38,Sachin Rana 2 for 33) lost to Air India:177 for 5 in 38.1 overs (Abhimanyu Khod 51,Deepak Joon 70,Sandeep 32 not out,Sonu Rathi 2 for 38)

Canara Bank victorious

In the fourth match at the St John’s School,Sector 26,Canara Bank defeated Raliance-I by nine runs. Owing to overnight rains,the match was reduced to 31 overs each side.

After winning the toss,the Reliance team opted to field first. At one stage,Canara Bank was 78 for 4 but then a partnership of 72 runs for the fifth-wicket between Raju Bhatkal (47) and Deepak Choghale (72 no) took the total to 150 for 5 in 24.4 overs. Eventually,Canara Bank posted a total of 213 for 5 in 31 overs. Murtuza Vohra (3 for 66) was the most successful bowler for Reliance.

Batting second,Reliance could muster 204 runs for the loss of nine wickets in 31 overs. Sunny Singh (57) scored the highest runs for the losing team. Ayappa (3 for 46) and Sinan (3 for 33) were the successful bowlers for the winning team.

Brief Scores:

Canara Bank: 213 for 5 in 31 overs (Raju Bhatkal 47,Deepak Choughle 72 not out,Murtuza Vohra 3 for 66) beat Reliance-I: 204 for 9 in 31 overs (A.Baroi 34,Sunny Singh 57,Pawan Negi 33,Murtaza Vohra 23 not out,N.C. Ayappa 3 for 46,Abhishek 2 for 31,Sinan 3 for 33)

For all the latest Chandigarh News, download Indian Express App