Follow Us:
Sunday, August 14, 2022

PU senate elections: Results for third round declared

The polling results for the third round of counseling in the professors and readers’ constituency were declared today.

Written by Express News Service | Chandigarh |
September 20, 2012 2:31:58 am

The polling results for the third round of counseling in the professors and readers’ constituency were declared today. The winning candidates are Karamjit Singh and Rupinder Tewari from the professor’s constituency and Dinesh Kumar and M C Sidhu from the reader’s constituency.

Of the 12 candidates that were competing for the four seats,in the professor’s constituency,Akshaya Kumar,S K Chadha and Karamjit Singh contested from the arts department. Karamjit won with a total of 70 votes while Kumar secured 51 votes,followed by Chadha,who got 34 votes.

In the science department,the competing faculty in the professor’s constituency were Rupinder Tewari,S K Mehta and Sukesh Kumar. Tewari won with 20 votes,Mehta secured 17 votes while Kumar managed 5 votes.

In the reader’s constituency,competing faculty from the arts department were Dinesh Kumar,Pradeep Sharma and Kuljeet Brar. 154 votes were secured by Dinesh Kumar who won against 132 polled by Pardeep Kumar and 23 votes by Brar. In the science department,competitors in the reader’s constituency were Kamaljeet Singh,Malkiat C Sidhu and Amit Chauhan. Victory chose Sidhu with 92 votes,as opposed to Kamaljeet with 45 votes and Amit Chauhan with 51 votes.

Subscriber Only Stories
The Bihar Handshake: Nitish, Tejashwi and a shared purpose — taking on BJ...Premium
Inside Track: Outfoxing BJPPremium
Tavleen Singh writes: Has India changed enough?Premium
Explained: A Chinese spy ship is set to dock at Sri Lanka port on Aug 16 ...Premium

Both the winning candidates from the professor’s constituency belong to the Ashok Goel group while Dinesh Kumar was supported by the BJP. The fourth senator M C Sidhu is an independent candidate.

Candidates supported by the Ashok Goel group had won five out of six seats in the election of faculties held on August 29 while those supported by G K Chatrath had managed to win from the law faculty segment.

The winning candidate Karamjit Singh is from University Business School,Rupinder Tewari belongs to the Biotechniology Department,M C Sidhu is from the Department of Botany and Dinesh Kumar belongs to the Department of Law.

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Chandigarh News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
First published on: 20-09-2012 at 02:31:58 am

Featured Stories