Follow Us:
Sunday, July 15, 2018

Patiala humble Chandigarh to emerge triumphant

Patiala trounced Chandigarh team in all departments to earn a well-deserved victory in a match played during the ongoing Punjab Inter-District Cricket Tournament

Written by Express News Service | Chandigarh | Published: September 3, 2013 12:41:15 am

Chandigarh team had no answer to Patiala’s heroics. Patiala trounced Chandigarh team in all departments to earn a well-deserved victory in a match played during the ongoing Punjab Inter-District Cricket Tournament for Katoch Sheild held at Dhruv Pandove Cricket Stadium in Patiala. In reply to Patiala’s first innings total of 298 runs,Chandigarh were bowled out for 218 runs in the second innings. It maybe recalled Chandigarh were skittled out for 118 runs in the first innings. Patiala’s left-arm spinner Rajwinder Singh had scalped seven wickets in the first innings.

Chandigarh resuming at overnight score of 159 runs for 4 in 42 overs lost their opener Manan Vohra for 83 runs. After his dismissal,Chandigarh kept losing the wickets in regular intervals and folded up for 218 in 60.1 overs . Sandeep Sharma (4 for 49),Mohit Mohindera (2 for 46) and Rajwinder Singh (2 for 80) were the main wicket takers for Patiala. The hosts were 41 for no loss with Ravi Inder Singh and Kunwar Raina on the crease when the match was awarded to Patiala. With this win,Patiala pocketed seven points and one bonus point.

Brief Scores:

Chandigarh (Ist Innings):118 all out in 46.4 overs,(2nd Innings): Chandigarh: 218 all out in 60.1 overs (Manan Vohra 83,Sarul Kanwar 62,Sandeep Sharma 4 for 49,Mohit Mohindera 2 for 46,Rajwinder Singh 2 for 80)

Patiala (Ist Innings): 298 for all in 86.5 overs (Kunwar Raina 112,Ravi Inder Singh 71,Anmolpreet Singh 38,Jaskaran Singh 3 for 49,Gurinder Singh 3 for 107,Gurjot 2 for 38 Rakesh Rawat 1 for 31,Gaurav Gambhir 1 for 41),(2nd Innings): 41 for no loss (Ravi Inder Singh 31 no,Kunwar Raina 10 no)

Mohali struggle

Left-arm spinner Yogesh Kumar wove a web around Mohali batsmen to grab vital six wickets in the second innings which reduced hapless Mohali batsmen to 227 runs. Mohali resumed from overnight score of 72 for six and crashed to 227 runs eventually. Yogesh bowled a marathon spell of 42 overs in which he bowled 12 maidens and captured six wickets conceding 84 runs. For Mohali,it was skipper Mayank Sidana who showed some promise with the bat scoring 86 runs. Jalandhar did not enforce the follow on and were 111 for 3 in 32 overs at close of third day’s play. Jalandhar had established an overall lead of 266 runs. Mandeep Jr. (51) and skipper Taruwar Kohli (41) put on 64 runs for the second wicket stand. Varun Khanna (2 for 37) was the most successful bowler for Mohali.

Brief Scores:

Jalandhar (Ist Innings): 382 all out in 141.3 overs,(2nd Innings): 111 for 3 in 32 overs (Mandeep Jr. 51 Taruwar Kohli 41,Varun Khanna 2 for 37).

Mohali (Ist Innings): 227 all out in 94.3 overs (Mayank Sidana 86,Sunny Sahal 38,Yogesh Kumar 6 for 84,Rahul Sharma 2 for 59,Shubek Gill 1 for 23)

Amritsar snub Ludhiana

AMRITSAR set a target of 227 runs for an outright win for Ludhiana in the second innings. In reply,Ludhiana fell 25 runs short off the target and were bowled out for 202 runs. With this,Amritsar recorded a win over Ludhiana to surge ahead in the tournament. Amritsar resuming at overnight score of 179 runs for 8 were bowled out for 205 in 113 overs. They set a target of 227 runs for Ludhiana for a outright win. For Ludhiana,Deepak Bansal (4 for 26) bowled well. Ludhiana started their reply on a positive note adding 70 runs for the first wicket in 23 overs. Nikhil Chaudhary (41) was the main scorer for Ludhiana. Spinners Charanjit Singh (4 for 69) and Vinay Chaudhary (3 for 65) ran through the Ludhiana batting line-up. With this win Amritsar,got six points to take their points tally to seven points.

Brief Scores:

Amritsar (Ist Innings): 118 all out in 51 overs,(2nd Innings): 205 all out in 113 overs (Sharad Lumba 47,Aman Bawa 48,Mohit Handa 23,Abhinav 35 no,Rahul Singla 3 for 37,Deepak Bansal 4 for 26,Anil Sihag 1 for 34,Himanshu Shelly 1 for 3).

Ludhiana (Ist Innings): 97 all out in 25.5 overs (Baltez Singh 22,Anil Sihag 18,Charanjit Singh 6 for 56,Kamal Passi 3 for 11),(2nd Innings): 202 all out in 73.2 overs (Nikhil Chaudhary 41, Sunny Pandey 34,Himanshu Shelly 26,Ashish 24,Kamal Passi 2 for 34,Charanjit Singh 4 for 69 ,Vinay Chaudhary 3 for 65).

For all the latest Chandigarh News, download Indian Express App