Follow Us:
Monday, June 27, 2022

Outsiders as candidates do not bother Sirsa

Every constituency seems to have a problem with outsiders as candidates.

Written by C B SINGH | Sirsa |
April 21, 2009 3:41:47 am

Every constituency seems to have a problem with outsiders as candidates. But this does not seem to be the issue with the voters at Sirsa Lok Sabha Constituency (Reserve),which has witnessed 12 elections since its formation in 1967. Most candidates from Sirsa have been from other districts,except Members of Parliament (MPs) Het Ram and Atma Singh Gill.

For the forthcoming Lok Sabha election,Congress candidate Ashok Tanwar also has the tag of an ‘outsider’,since he hails from Jhjjar. He will face Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) candidate Sita Ram,a sitting MLA from Dabwali. Sita Ram is a resident of Dabwali too,a part of Sirsa district. But given the history of the constituency,Tanwar has little reason to worry. And Sirsa might swing in his favour,caring little that he hails from another constituency.

Dalbir Singh,who represented Sirsa twice,was a resident of Prabhuwala in Hisar Lok Sabha constituency. He represented Sirsa from 1967 to 1971. Dalbir Singh was defeated during the Janata Party wave in the 1977 election by Chand Ram,who was a resident of Rohtak Parliamentary constituency. Dalbir Singh was again re-elected from this constituency in 1984 when there was sympathy wave in favour of the Congress,following the death of the then prime minister Indira Gandhi.

After the death of Dalbir Singh,a mid-term poll was held in 1989. His daughter Shelja was defeated by INLD candidate Het Ram of Sahuwala of Sirsa,despite the sympathy wave. Het Ram was the first candidate who hailed from this constituency. He was again re-elected in the 1989 general election.

Best of Express Premium
GST Council to vet verification plan for high-risk taxpayersPremium
Make Sanskrit compulsory from Class 1, RSS tells Gujarat govtPremium
Backsliding in AmericaPremium
Absent Akhilesh, strong BJP campaign & BSP: Why SP sank in Azamgarh, ...Premium

In 1991,Shelja was elected despite the tag of ‘outsider’ by defeating Het Ram. But in the 1999 election,she changed her constituency from Sirsa to Ambala,following which Om Prakash Keharwala was given party ticket.

Sushil Kumar Indora of Indian National Lok Dal,who defeated Keharwala,was also an outsider. He hailed from Rai Singh Nagar in Rajasthan,and was running a clinic in Bhattu.

The second MP,Atma Singh Gill,belonging to Baliala village of Ratia,which is in Sirsa Lok Sabha constituency.

He was elected on a Congress ticket in the 2004 general election.

Express Subscription Do not hit the wall, subscribe for the best coverage out of India starting at just $5 per month

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Chandigarh News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard