No voter I-card yet? You still have time

No voter I-card yet? You still have time

Residents of the city who have not yet got their voter identity cards made still stand a chance. I-cards can be made before April 24...

Lok sabha elections : Cards can be made before April 24,the date for filing nominations

Residents of the city who have not yet got their voter identity cards made still stand a chance. I-cards can be made before April 24,which is the date for the candidates contesting the Lok Sabha elections from Chandigarh to file their nominations.

While I-cards were earlier being issued from the 400-odd booths set up for the purpose,these would now be made at the level of Assistant Electoral Registration Officer (AERO). As many as 12 AEROs have been deputed for the task.

According to officials,applicants need to submit the requisite form along with a residence proof and birth certificate. The residence proof can include driving licence,ration card,bank passbook,Life Insurance Corporation (LIC) policy or the bill of landline phone among other documents.


For the first time,bills of post-paid mobile phones are also being accepted as a proof of residence.

Several political parties are,meanwhile,guiding residents about the procedures to get voter I-cards made,with forms available at party offices.

Following are the AEROs and the areas assigned to them:

Ashwani Kumar, Assistant Estate Officer: Sectors 1,2,3,4,5,6,8,9,10; Kaimbwala village.

Amandeep Kaur, Director,Social Welfare: Sectors 11,12,14,15,24,25; Dhanas,Sarangpur,Lahora,Khuda Jassu and Khuda Ali Sher villages; Housing Board Milk Colony,Aman & Chaman,Lahora,Kalyan Labour Colony,Kumhar Labour Colony,Janta Labour Colony,Sector 25-D and Rehabilitation Colony.

T P S Phoolka, Joint Commissioner – 1,MC: Sectors 16, 22,23.

Niharika Rai, SDM (E): Sectors 17,18,19,20,21

Prerna Puri, SDM (South): Sectors 7,26,27,28,Grain Market; Colonies: Bapu Dham Phase I,II & III,Sansi,Bardana,Madrasi,Mahatma Gandhi,Timber Market and Sanjay Labour Colony.

Amit Talwar, CGM,CITCO: Sectors 29,30,CSIO Colony,MW House,Ind. Area Ph-I,Labour Colony No. 4,Poultry Farm,Daria and Raipur Khurd villages.

P K Sharma, Secretary,MC: Sectors 31,47,Industrial Area Ph-II,Labour Colony Ph-II,Hallomajra village,Ramdarbar Ph-I & II,Bhagat Singh Colony,Behlana village.

R S Verma, Additional Director (Admn),GMCH: Sectors: 32,33,34,44,45,46,Burail village,Burail Labour Colony No. 5 (Jail Road),Faidian,Nizampur Farm,Kesho Ram Colony and Sectors 48 & 49 societies.

P S Shergill, Director,CTU: Sector 35,36,42,43,Kajheri village,Kajheri Colony,Nehru Colony,Attawa,Kuldip Colony,Mazdoor Colony,Pandit Colony,Rehabilitated Colony and Sectors 50,51,52,61.

Kamlesh Kumar,Secretary,Chandigarh Housing Board: Maloya,Palsora,Badheri,Dadumajra,Buterla villages; Maloya Rehabilitated Colony,Lal Bahadur Shastri Colony,Palsora,Ambedkar Avas Yojana,Adarsh Colony,Site & Service Complex Dadu Majra,Shahpur,Rajiv Labour Colony,Sector 55 and 56.

Parminder Pal Singh,Assistant Commissioner-II,MC: Sectors 37,38,39,40,41.


Samwartak SinghKhangwal,DPI (S): Kishangarh,Mauli Jagran,Makhanmajra,Raipur Kalan,Manimajra villages; Bhagwan Pura,Manimajra,Railway Colony,Shivalik Enclave,New Indira Colony,Gawala Colony and Jagran Colony.